Traveler Reviews for Private Tour in Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia by Tour Guide Benny J.

 Tour Title:
 Location:
 Guide:
 Overall Rating:
 
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Benny J.
 (46)

Kathryn Cooper-jensen

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour, Dec 2 2019, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Dec 2/19

Benny was a wonderful guide. We had a twelve hour layover in Jakarta and he did a great job showing us his city. His knowledge was impressive and his love for his country was obvious. He quickly saw we were more interested in seeing the "locals" view of the city rather than the tourist view and he delivered! Highly recommend him for future tours

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for your very kind rating for my tour, have a good trip in Raja Ampat and stay in touch

Mark Osborn

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Aviation Tour Sep 22-23, 2019, Tangerang, ID06, Indonesia    
Date: Sep 22/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Mark, see you soon Benny J

Michael Straneva

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: May 28/19

Benny is amazingly knowledgeable, intelligent and thoughtful person who fortunately wants to share his expertise of Jakarta and Indonesia. I found him to be particularly well versed in the history, culture and politics of Indonesia, the US and Asia. He has a unique prospective on the future given his time with the US embassy and the government of Indonesia. Most importantly, Benny was able to impart real wisdom which is in particularly short supply. I would recommend Benny without reservation.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for having a guide and new friend, kindly stay in touch and looking forward to seeing you again

Chatchai Supprapruth

Thailand
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Apr 7/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Sir, ��

Kimberly F.

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour 25-12-18, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Dec 25/18

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: ToursByLocals is committed to 5-Star tour experiences and we appreciate any learning opportunity to improve the quality of the service we offer our customers. We take all feedback seriously and have, as always, attempted to clarify with our customer if there was anything our guide, or ToursByLocals, could have done differently to have made this tour a 5-Star experience.

Mara Gesmundo

Philippines
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Oct 24/18

Benny J was very open and easy to talk to. His presence is more like a friend touring us around. He genuinely knew what he was talking about. He is interested in his culture and althroughout the tour we shared his level of interest. Definitely recommending him to anyone touring the city!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for your generous and kind comment, looking forward to see you in Jakarta, send my best regards to your mom and brother Yours sincerely Benny J

Takashi Okamoto

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Sep 3/18

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Takashi for your generous comment

Fred Van Gulden

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour May 26, 2018, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: May 26/18

Benny took us to the the mosque and cathedral and all must see places in Jakarta. The Batavia café was a great experience. Order the rijsttafel!!! We also asked Benny where we could do some shopping and he took us there without any problem. We enjoyed his presence.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks you so much Fred for the kind comment on our tour, I hope you had a good time for the whole of Indonesian trip, stay in touch Best regards Benny J

Gijs Van der Loo

Netherlands
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Apr 27/18

We believe Benny is the safest driver in Jakarta. He guided us very safely through Jakartas hectic traffic while giving us cultural and historical background information about the city, country and the sites we have seen and visited. All that in spotless English. Absolutely recommended, we have enjoyed it a lot!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Gijs, Thanks you for your generous comments, I also had a good time during the tour, and surely you will also a good time in Yogya and Bali Yours sincerely Benny J

Shirley Wagorn

Australia
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour April 22, 2018, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Apr 22/18

Benny was amazing! We had such a good day. We required less walking as we had some elderly with us. Benny adapted our tour to suit extremely well. When we wanted to stop he did. We all enjoyed how knowledgeable he was and all the info he imparted. He took us to a place where we had a very enjoyable lunch! Thank you Benny for such a good day! I would use Benny again if we are in Jakarta!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks you Shirley for the generous comment, I had a good with you and the family. They will surely have a wonderful time in Palembang. Stay in touch, let me know if you are in Jakarta so we can have friendly meeting Yours sincerely Benny J

Jill Bauer

Fernandina Beach, FL, United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Bogor Bandung Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Apr 17/18

Benny did an amazing job creating a custom four-day itinerary. We were able to see the city as well as the countryside. Of course, traveling in Indonesia takes a long time due to traffic congestion, but Benny was a delightful conversationalist. His English is quite good and he has a broad background in politics, history and culture. We had been to Indonesia once before, but now feel as if we have a much more in depth understanding of the country. Benny gave us a list of places to visit on our own too

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Jill and David, Thanks you for your generous comment and great patients as sometime we were trapped in the horrified traffic, I also enjoy the tour and learn many things, stay in touch, and to see you again perhaps for cooking tour or just a friend visit Yours sincerely Benny J

Carol V.

Canada
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Feb 16/18

Thank you Benny for an enjoyable day and interesting tour of Jakarta for our group visiting from cruiseship. We especially enjoyed the stop at the Obama school to see the children.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Carol for having me as your guide and giving me a good comment Benny J

Charles Tillotson

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Jan 5/18

Benny did a great job as tour guide, giving us a comprehensive tour with commentary of Jakarta. Because of crush of traffic we opted to do drive-bys of the museums and Grand Mosque. He found a money-changer for us. We lunched at Batavia Cafe, a must-stop with great food and drinks in the old town. The seaport was interesting, seeing all the old wooden boats. All in all, a great overview of a vibrant city.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks you Charles for the kind comment, I also enjoyed very much the tour with you Yours sincerely Benny J

Jannes G.

South Africa
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Private Tour Oct 12 2017, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Oct 12/17

Benny is highly recommended to show you around Jakarta. He was very responsive in showing me exactly the things and areas I had expressed an interest in. He did a very comprehensive tour considering the limited time I had in Jakarta. He has a wealth of knowledge regarding the history of the area and is very interesting to talk to regarding current affairs. Thank you, Benny.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks you very much for very kind comment, glad you enjoy the tour, enjoy your training do not forget visit the mearby Holland Barkery

Lesley Holzer

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Sep 16/17

Benny is an intellect with great insights into the Indonesian culture, politics and its diverse indigenous people. He doesn't impose his view on you but approaches the experience as an opportunity to educate, learn and exchange ideas. We loved the visit to Barack Obamas primary school, the mosque, Fatahillah Square and our interaction with high school kids wanting to practice English. Benny loves to laugh as do we so this was the perfect tour for us. Thank you for an excellent experience, the Holzer's.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for having me as your tour guide, I really also enjoyed the tour with the lovely couple, hope to meet you and Steve again in the future, have a wonderful time in Limbo and Bsli, thanks again

Javier M.

Spain
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta City & Heritage Tour August 27, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Aug 27/17

Excellent city tour totally adapted to our needs and mobility issues. Benny speaks a correct english and explains perfectly every detail of the city and also the country. He's a family man with a high cultural level. The car was perfect for 4 people plus himself as a driver. We strongly recomend this local guide. Thaks for all Benny!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Javier for the kind comment, I am so glad to know you and your family can enjoy the tour today even today is so hot in Jakarta. I hope you enjoy the rest of trip in Yogya and Bali, thanks again

Garry B.

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Jan 27/17

I recently had a tour by Benny in Jakarta Indonesia. He was amazing. Great English, great insight on the country including its economics and its politics. Please tell him he got great reviews from myself and Dr. Young.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Garry for your kind comments, I also enjoyed very much the tour, kind send my best regard to Dr. Young

William F.

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Jan 13/17

We found Benny to be a charming and informative guide. He went out of his way to be helpful and has excellent language skills as well as a lively interest in many subjects. Thank you Benny.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Sit for your kind comment, I also really enjoy the tour Benny J

Peter Salamon

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour October 31, 2016, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Oct 31/16

A very interesting guide. Very knowledgeable. Lots of interesting information. Very personable. On time. A very good day

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Peter, thanks for your kind comment

Bibi Dhansay

South Africa
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Aug 27/16

Benny was very friendly. We enjoyed the tour.

Frank Simons

Canada
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Aug 4/16

Charming, informative, efficient and prompt. Enjoyed our conversations about Indonesian history and culture and appreciated his tips on navigating Jakarta, even beyond the scope of the tour. His command of English is excellent.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks you Frank for your kind comment, enjoy your trip in Central Java, Bali and Lombok Thanks Benny J.

Jack McElroy

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: May 8/16

Benny was very accommodating and made sure we saw all the highlights of Jakarta.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks you for your generous and kind comments

Louis Thompson

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Apr 24/16

This was my first trip to Jakarta, and given how massive the city is, I thought I would get only a very superficial feel for the city. Benny proved me wrong. He is an incredibly smart and cosmopolitan guide who had the ability to explain the cultural and historical aspects of Indonesia in a comprehensive fashion. He was prompt, engaging, and a real pleasure to be with for 8 hours.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Louis, Thanks you very much for your kind respond, I also had a good time having the tour with you, let me know if you will visit Jakarta again

Gary Mendes

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour March 3, 2016, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Mar 3/16

A great tour. Benny customized our tour to our tastes and requests.

Chyntia Sulistiowati

United Arab Emirates
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Jul 12/15

Susana Tamin

Indonesia
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour July 9, 2015, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Jul 9/15

Benny arrived half an hour before the tour started,took us to the places agreed upon and did not charge extra when we finished an hour later than anticipated. We had high expectation after reading his cv and online comments but we were disappointed that he did not tell us much about anything, we were left to read explanations in museum on our own. We felt we did not get any service of a tour guide, only transport. I am sorry to say that we had wasted our time, opportunity and money.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you, I was fasting as it was the month of Ramadan so I may look a little bit tired, but I am always fasting during this time and no complaints so far. I am using the first class mini bus to assure the quality of service. I also moving to sit in the middle so everybody could hear my explanation. It was not easy to keep seven people in one group when we are in national museum since everyone has their own interest. I will surely review my works especially in handling larger groups in the museum. BennyJ

Mark Laidlaw

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Jul 2/15

I only had one full day in Jakarta and wanted to see as much as possible which would have been hard by myself due to the size of the city so this tour was perfect. I really enjoyed seeing the sites, particularly the National Monument and the Mosque. Benny is very friendly and really informative. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Jakarta.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Mark for your kind comment, although the bad traffic have shortened our tour in the evening

Dennis Dibartolomeo

Thailand
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: May 10/15

Benny went the extra kilometer to show us his city in the aspects we were interested in--culture, spirituality, art, and street life. Important tip: plan a sunday tour. traffic is much lighter, all the museums are open, and the downtown area is car-free until 11 AM so you can join with thousands of locals who walk, jog, skateboard and socialize along the route.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Dennis, I also had a great time with you and the monk, stay in touch and take care

Judith Miskulin

Canada
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Apr 28/15

Benny was a superb guide; very knowledgeable and professional. The agenda for this tour was perfect. We loved it!

Michael Beumer-Browner

United States
Rating

Tour: #90248, Jakarta Heritage Tour, Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia    
Date: Mar 18/15

Benny conducted a vey professional and pleasant tour. He shows enthusiasm for his city and really shows it as a vibrant and interesting place. He is knowledgeable, has a good sense of humor and adjusts exactly to what you want to do. Very good tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for having me in the tour, I also enjoyed the tour with you, have a wondreful fly to Califaornia


...