Traveler Reviews of Private Tours in Budapest-Hungary by Tour Guide Melinda K. (Guide #9011)


Doug Homoky

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car - Doug Homoky - 6 Feb 2020, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Feb 6/20

We had a second day with Melinda and I wish we could have had more time together. Her choices of sites to visit were perfect and felt we got a taste of Hungary from its ancient past to its vibrant culture today. Melinda also gave us several recommendations for sites and restaurants to do on our own and they were all fantastic. Don't miss a chance to tour Budapest with such a wonderful guide.

Doug Homoky

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day Budapest by car - Doug Homoky - 5 Feb 2020, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Feb 5/20

Melinda is great! Her passion for Hungary and Budapest is contagious. We had 3 couples on the tour and everyone left happy. She is more than capable in covering everything from the history, art, food and culture of such a great city. Doing the tour with a driver is a must to maximize your time at the various sites. Can't wait to get back!

Mark Swofford

United States
Rating

Tour: #111704, Grand Tour of Budapest walking, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Dec 22/19

It was a nice tour that use public transportation well and we where able to see a lot.

Ronald Stoeck

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Dec 15/19

This was a followup to our first day ever in Budapest which we also took with Melinda. This time we were lucky enough to go on a Sunday because she took us to a farmer's market in the famous "Ruin Bar." Also, we toured the art Neuveau thermal baths at Gellert and the Buda Royal Palace. We ended up at the very impressive Heroes' Square, checking off all the most important sights with these two half day tours. Melinda will make sure to tailor your visit to your personal interests as she did ours.

Sherri Henry

Canada
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day Budapest by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Dec 14/19

Our half day Budapest tour with Melinda and her driver Andrew was absolutely outstanding! She is extremely knowledgeable and a real pleasure to visit with. We loved being able to hop out of the car with Melinda and tour around on foot. We explored many of the top touristy spots, but also appreciated seeing more local, off the beaten path sites. We couldn't have asked for a better introduction to this beautiful city! Thank you Melinda!

Ronald Stoeck

United States
Rating

Tour: #98623, Half day tour Budapest on foot, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Dec 12/19

Despite the rainy weather, my wife and I had a very pleasant and informative tour with Melinda on our first day ever in Budapest. She also gave us a great suggestion for a typical Hungarian restaurant close to our hotel. We also folowed her advice to book a river cruise tour on the Danube the next evening and it was well worth it.

Ron Steinbach

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Dec 8/19

Melinda provided a fantastic tour of Budapest, showing us places that we would not have otherwise seen. She blended the site visits with her extensive knowledge of the history of Budapest and Hungary. Melinda and her driver treated us like we were their best friends and made us feel like we were at home. She also talked with us about our interests and tailored our tour to what we were interested in. She provided possibly the best guided tour that we have ever been on. If we come back, we would cont

Sheri Hardin

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Dec 2/19

Melinda was so flexible to take into account what we had seen the day we arrived and what we were going to see on our river cruise. She gave us options and let us select. We also learned a lot about the history and culture of Budapest. We enjoyed hearing about what the locals enjoy. Having a driver was a great plus.

Sean Munro

Port Moody, BC, Canada
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Nov 30/19

We highly recommend Melinda! From first interaction through to goodbyes Melinda was helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. She provided a customized itinerary for us that wouldn't overlap with an included tour that we had the following day as part of a Viking River cruise. Through her we got to experience so much more of Budapest than we otherwise would have. We all greed it was the highlight of our time in Budapest. Couldn't be happier. Thank you again Melinda!

Teresita Cuaso

Philippines
Rating

Tour: #102864, 6-hour Szentendre tour customized for Teresita Cuaso Nov 26 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Nov 26/19

It was our 2nd day at Budapest and spend the day at Szentendre. It was indeed a place to visit. We all had a fabulous time because of Melinda who went out of her way to make sure we all had wonderful time. She deserves a 7 star. Thank you sooo much Melinda for the memorable 2 days we had at Budapest. Hope we get to meet again.

Teresita Cuaso

Philippines
Rating

Tour: #95524, 7 hour customized tour for Teresita Cuaso 25 Nov 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Nov 25/19

Melinda was our tour guide for a day in Budapest. We had awesome experience of Budapest city tour because of her. She explained everything clearly and patiently. The whole group just loved her. Highly recommend her.

Elizabeth I.

Indonesia
Rating

Tour: #111704, Grand Tour of Budapest walking, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Nov 16/19

My husband and I visited Budapest for the first time and we were very happy to have Melinda as our guide. She is very knowledgeable , friendly and professional. We highly recommend her. We did a day tour on foot and took public transport which helped us feel the pulse of this beautiful city. We saw a lot of beauty and learned so much in one day, thanks to Melinda.

Allison Sobel

United States
Rating

Tour: #98623, Half day tour Budapest on foot, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Nov 5/19

Thank you Melinda for a fabulous tour! Your knowledge of the history was very informative and easy to understand. We had a fantastic day touring Budapest with you. We highly recommend Melinda as a tour guide!

Barbara Sparrow

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day Budapest by car - Barbara Sparrow 26 Oct 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Oct 26/19

I am so glad I took the time and hired Tours by Locals. Melinda was so gracious and very very knowledgeable of the history of Budapest. Also, I had my mother with me who has at times difficulty walking and Melinda made it very convenient for her to see the sights and took her weakness into consideration. I would HIGHLY recommend Melinda to anyone who is interested in touring Budapest and Tours by Locals. Very Positive Experience.

Harry W.

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Oct 14/19

Joel Richards

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Oct 13/19

Terrific tour!

Joel Richards

United States
Rating

Tour: #102864, Half day Szentendre tour, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Oct 12/19

Great tour!

Joel Richards

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day Budapest by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Oct 12/19

Melinda was a terrific guide! We spent a day and a half with her. We felt we saw everything that was important to see in Budapest. Our driver Andrew spoke excellent English and was very helpful in getting us around the city in comfortable van. Melinda took us to a wonderful restaurant for our lunch. We could not be happier with our experience in Budapest.

Frances Schafer

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Oct 6/19

Melinda is a fantastic tour guide who tailored our tour so we saw places our group of five would not see on the cruise ship's tour of Budapest. Since she is a licensed guide, we were able to skip the long lines to get into the Synagogue and the Fisherman's Bastion. She is extremely knowledgeable, very personable, and eager to share her love of Budapest with us. All of us thought she gave a terrific tour. We did plenty of walking but having a car and driver allowed us to travel quickly between sites.

Shannon Nolan

Hungary
Rating

Tour: #104197, Customized tour - Shannon Smith - Sep 30 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 30/19

Wonderful day with Melinda to the Hungarian countryside. She educated us on the history of Hungary and the places we visited. She is extremely knowledgeable. She was so friendly from the moment we met her and she made the trip so enjoyable. She researched the areas we wanted to travel to and even went to the remote towns a few days before to scout them out. I would high recommend Melinda.

Ros Miller

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day Budapest by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 24/19

Melinda was great and flexible to adjust our tour to cover the sights we hadn't seen yet: Shoes along the Danube, Parliament, The Great Market where she explained how long the market had been around, the design and the unique roof tiles and gave us a good understanding of the different Paprikas, and Dohany Synagogue where she gave us an in depth tour of the building, it's tortured history were put into perspective. George, did a good job getting us from one place to another. Highly recommend them both.

Sandra Schlaudecker

United States
Rating

Tour: #94427, Off the beaten track by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 19/19

We had a great, indepth tour based on sites we wanted to see. Melinda was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Budapest. We toured the Jewish synagogue and spent almost an hour listening to a wonderful but sad history of the building and the cemetery adjoining. We visited 5-6 stops in our 4 hours. Just the right amount of time. Both the driver and Melinda had excellent English language skills. Would use her again if we return.

Frederick Katz

United States
Rating

Tour: #173762, Grand Tour of Budapest by private transportation, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 17/19

We had a wonderful day with Melinda. She was a fabulous tour guide, but an even more gracious, and genuine person. She definitely made us feel special!

Gary Saunders

Australia
Rating

Tour: #102864, Customized tour Lynne Saunders - Sep 15, 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 15/19

Melinda customised a tour for us to meet our needs. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and Melinda was informative, knowledgeable flexible and friendly. Would highly recommend a tour with Melinda.

Joli Spoliansky

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day tour of Pest by car - customized for Joli Spoliansky - 11 Sep 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 11/19

Joli Spoliansky

United States
Rating

Tour: #581128, Jewish Budapest Private Tour - customized for Joli Spoliansky 10 Sep 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 10/19

Joli Spoliansky

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day tour of Buda by car - customized for Joli Spoliansky - 9 Sep 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 9/19

Melinda is excellent and very knowledgeable

John Funk

United States
Rating

Tour: #173762, Grand Tour of Budapest by private transportation, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 3/19

Melinda was amazingly knowledgeable about the history of her native city. During the course of the day she gave us a comprehensive overview of Budapest. She was a pleasure as a tour guide and we highly recommend her.

Alfred Wright

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, Half day Budapest by car, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Sep 2/19

Melinda was very knowledgeable and showed us things in Buda and Pest that we very neat. She took us to every sight we wanted gave us choices and made the most of our time together. She had a driver which made it easier for her to discuss with us the special things in town without her driving.

Hal Waldman

United States
Rating

Tour: #95524, 6 hour tour of Buda by car - customized for Diane Waldman - 31 Aug 2019, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary    view tour
Date: Aug 31/19

Melinda is fantastic. Her stories are very interesting. Her English is beautiful. Very broad knowledge. Wonderful sense of humor. We had Melinda for 2 days and we enjoyed ever minute


...