Traveler Reviews of Private Tours in Port-Said-Egypt by Tour Guide Takla E. (Guide #885)

Nancy Mills

New Zealand

Tour: Alexandria From 22 till 25 April - Nancy Mills, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: Apr 22/16

Takla is extremely knowledgeable, personable, organised and prepared. Before the tour he was very good at commucicating with us and our many questions. He even invited us to his daughter's birthday party which was fun. We enjoyed Takla and felt like he looked after us very well. We felt like we became friends.

Nita Puri


Tour: Private Alexandria Nitapuri, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: Oct 6/12

Takla was friendly and did try to make the two days (although one was enough to cover our interests)as informative as possible.

Ian D.

Wellington, New Zealand

Tour: Alexandria Helen Trim, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: Oct 1/12

Takla has a very good knowledge of the things that were included in the tour and we enjoyed that. Both he and the driver were interesting people to be with and shared their city very willingly. The tour started late, at our request due to flight times, and this meant that the traffic was much heavier and daylight ran out before we could see the gardens. In hindsight, the tour could have been rearranged to accomodate all the sights, and shorten the lunch break.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks Helen we would make the lunch more shorter next time for the gardens wish see you again, you take lot of time and cost to come from New Zealand

Patricia Maw

United States

Tour: Patricia Maw, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: Sep 9/12

I wish to thank Takla for the wonderful tours in Alexandria. The tours Takla arranged were both historically informative and enjoyable. Takla is very apt, smart and demonstrated his mastery of Egyptian history during the tours by being able to answer questions with ease. He ensured that I was comfortable, safe and all my travel needs were met. I saw many parts of Alexandria, in addition to the historical sites, which I would probably not have seen otherwise. I recommend him to anyone visiting Alex.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks so much PATRICIA MAW we would like to see again in Alexandria

Dora Perez

United States

Tour: #2548, Tour of Cairo and Alexandria private shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: May 15/12

Judie Hoeppner

United States

Tour: Judie Hoeppner, Cairo, Egypt
Date: Nov 2/11

Takla was very knowledgable, which greatly enchanced our first Egyptian visit. He also bent over backwards to accomodate our needs and desires. We're glad he was our guide! Thanks so much for watching over Brandy after we left! Aloha, Judie

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks Judie hope see you again in Egypt or in hawaii do not forget this trip

Donald Watren

United States

Tour: donald watren, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: Oct 23/11

Tour was good, unfortunately guide was constantly talking with driver and not explaining what we were seeing! English was difficult to understand and restaurant for lunch left little to be desired. Had diarrhea next few days.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I'm glad you enjoyed the tour. I was talking with driver to show him the road because he was just new in work. I am sorry about lunch - I do not understand how service is bad sometimes. I do ask them at 12 am for a good lunch however when we were there at 13:30 pm, we found many guest from the same ship. About my language, some expression are different then American English.

Myrna Gotfrit

montreal, QUEBEC, Canada

Tour: #2573, Private Alexandria shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: Jul 27/11

We had the most wonderful day with Takla. He is pleasant, informative, and fun to be with. He was very helpful with whatever we asked him to do or see was taken care of ASAP Montreal Canada,The Shores and Gotfrit's

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks dear MYRNA wish to see you soon again it was a great day

Simon Kelly

United States

Tour: Cairo one day Tour from Alexandria Port, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: May 21/11

We were very disappointed that the confirmed guide cancelled on short notice. The substitute guide was difficult to understand and the tour completely omitted the trip to old Cairo and the visit to the Coptic Monastery with Hanging Church without any explanation. Overall we feel this tour did not correspond to the stated itinerary.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Sorry that you were disappointed - I got asked to do this tour on Thurdsay night at 11.30 pm. It was hard find a bus on Friday (the weekend in Egypt) and difficult to get permissions and official papers in order for your Saturday tour. It was my thought that you wanted to do Giza pyramids and Egyptian Musuem. You didn't tell me that you were interested to visit a Coptic Monastery with Hanging Church

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: Organizing this tour was difficult after the original guide had to cancel with short notice. We were unable to contact Mr. Kelly in advance as he was at sea. We felt it was better to have Takla be there to meet the ship rather than have the customer not met. We are surprised to hear that Takla was hard to understand. We speak to him quite often and do not find it so. Takla has many 5 star ratings on our system.

Michael Woods


Tour: #2572, Private Tour of Cairo: shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: Jan 9/11

Takla was early and waiting for us to start the tour. We were able to adjust the time spent at features to suit ourselves and yet we still managed to see everything we wanted to. His English was easy enough to understand and he had a lot of interesting information and facts to share. The restaurant and food was nice and the location was unbelievable. Thanks Takla

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks so much Mr Michael and all the family

Ivan Villescas

United States

Tour: #2572, Private Tour of Cairo: shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: Dec 17/10

Thanks Takla! Great tour of old muslim area, pyramids, and boat ride on the nile. My kids loved it, (ages 4 and 6), and we all had a great time. The ship changed their schedule the night before we docked and I was able to call Takla on the phone number he provided and let him know we would not be going to Alexandria and he was able to alter our tour before we arrived.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks so much, JELLYfish jellyfish jellyfish to kella and joakim

Cynthia Fernandez


Tour: #2548, Tour of Cairo and Alexandria private shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: Nov 5/10

Takla changed my concept about Egypt. I am quite satisfied with his service, his witty remarks and his exceptional knowledge of Alexandria, the pyramids, the sphinx and of Egypt. We are thankful and lucky to have Takla as our guide. He is an asset to your company. If by chance we'll be in Egypt again, I won't hesitate to take Takla as our guide again. The truth is we are proud to have known an Egyptian so kind and accommodating. Please extend also our greetings to our driver, Ibrahim.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much dear Cynthia.

Jerry Michalec

United States

Tour: #2548, Tour of Cairo and Alexandria private shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: Oct 18/10

great, drove us untill WE dropped. english being his 3rd language he was a little hard to understand at times but his knowledge of the history was great

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: thanks so much for the comment, yes i was confused sometimes in some expression see you soon in a desert trip

James Tonjes

Kings Park, NY, United States

Tour: Alexandria Tour, Alexandria, Egypt
Date: Sep 24/10

Tour started with a big name sign and a new Toyota van by a driver who was skillfully, cautiously aggressive. The guide was extremely well educated and careful for our safety and comfort. He went to extremes to make our tour enjoyable. He was prepared to help us understand the illustrations in the Catacombs with ultra violet light, illustrations and a diorama I was hesitant to view the Catacombs but it was fine. The Museum was added. The lunch was good. Cost w/tip less than the ship's.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks very much to Mr James for your words - I try to do the same and even more for each tour I do.

Gina Stafford

United States

Tour: #2572, Tour of Cairo shore excursion, Alexandria, Egypt    view tour
Date: Sep 12/10

We had several 'misunderstandings' with our guide, Takla. He asked us to begin our tour at 7am to avoid traffic and be ahead of the tour buses. He arrived after 8, an hour late. We had given him a list of the things we wanted to see/do & he had told us we'd have time, but we only saw the pyramids & museum. He offered to take us on the Nile boat ride but by lunch we were so upset we just wanted to leave. He also said we had booked a 2nd day of touring with him which we did not book. It was a very bad day

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I did the pyramids & museum and I promised if we have free time I will do the hanging church or the monastery of Saint BIshop. I reserved the car for myself on the second day for doing churches of Alexandria for miss jacy ( i did'nt ask for additional money ) it was a part of what i was plaining any way for this misunderstandings from me and this very bad day i refund 25 % of what you have paid. I apologise - this is the first time i got this trouble thanks for your interest takla

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: We're surprised by this review as Takla has helped us on a number of occasions with difficult tour. We have reviewed the problems with him and issued a refund to the Staffords.