Traveler Reviews of Private Tours in Punta-del-Este-Uruguay by Tour Guide Michelle V. (Guide #2294)


Richard Staudt

United States
Rating

Tour: #39405, 2 cities: Montevideo and Punta del Este, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 8/18

Were planning on two cities but only saw one

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Richard for your feedback. Nice meeting you all. We met at the port and rode to Punta del Este, going along our Montevideo coastline where we saw the different neighborhoods and beaches. Upon returning to Montevideo, we visited the Independence Square with all its interesting buildings including the Citadel Gate. I offered to show you the historic quarter not in the itinarary but you wished to get back to the cruise. Sorry the tour didn’t meet your expectations. All the best, Michelle

Charles Delle Donne

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour (Up to 3 passengers), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: May 18/18

Michelle was really interesting speaking about her city.....tour guides who are exciting make a tour !

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for your feedback! It was a joy meeting you and Kathy and spending some time together. You are lovely people with a lovely family. Have a good return back to LA! Hope to see you again, warm regards, Michelle

Alma Renko

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private 4 hour Shore Excursion Tour specially created for Alma Renko on March 23rd, 2018, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 23/18

Michelle was so knowledgeable, spoke clear English, and knew the political information that we would never have gotten from any other guide. Our tour was private to the four of us and we could ask questions and get answers from Michelle. Michelle was so concise, clear, informative and cheerful! Another thing, I had informed Michelle that my husband had COPD and Michelle as very caring of him and we really appreciated the loving care Michelle took with him.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Alma, Bob, Sharyn and and Jer, I’m so greatful for your wonderful review! It encourages me to go farther and be better. Thank you sooo much! I’m truly glad you enjoyed your visit to Montevideo and I could be part of it. You were so fabulous, warm and special, made it all so easy. Loved hosting you and already look forward to seeing you again. A very strong hug, all the best! Michelle

Jim Wideman

Canada
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este private Shore Excursion Tour specially created for Jim Wideman on March 18th, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 18/18

Michelle was a great guide and very knowledgeable , we would recommend her highly. Jim and Christine Wideman

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Jim, thank you so much for your nice review. You were so cool and engaging that I felt I knew you from long ago. In spite of the storm, it was fun and I did really enjoy. A big hug for you four and a great year ahead. All the best! Michelle

Steven Donn

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Half-day Tour for Steven Donn (March 2,2018), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Mar 2/18

Michelle and Gabriel were fabulous, very knowledgeable about Montevideo and passionate about Uruguay. They were patient and spoke impeccable English. Our group thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Muchas gracias!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so so much Steven for your great review! It was lovely meeting you all. You were so interested in our city that we were inspired...there is nothing so stimulating as an interested audience. Enjoy your amazing amethyst. All the best to you all and a great year ahead. Un abrazo, Michelle

Carol Lovelady

Union, KY, United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour for Carol Lovelady on Feb. 4th, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 4/18

Not really a lot to see in the city and the tour moved a little slow for our group. Michelle is very nice and brought her hubby along to help with the tour

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Carol for your feedback. I’m truly sorry Montevideo and the tour didn’t meet your expectations. Have a great year ahead. Best regards, Michelle

Christine Sparrey

Canada
Rating

Tour: #78780, NEW!! 3 Hour Montevideo City Van Tour for Christine Sparrey on Jam. 29th, 2018, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 29/18

Michelle was the perfect guide for us, so easy to correspond with and arrange what we had in mind in advance of the tour, perfectly described where to meet her, was there waiting for us and gave us such a wonderful visit to Montevideo. She is so knowledgeable and gave us so much information in such an interesting way. We saw far more of the area and gained so much more than if we had made the tour on our own. Michelle is a very cheerful person to be with too, we all totally enjoyed the time and views.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Chris for your wonderful review. It was such a pleasure and a joy meeting you all and sharing time together. I do look forward to seeing all of you back some day and enjoying some more of Montevideo, Punta del Este and whatever you would like to explore. Have a great time and all the best. Warm regards! Michelle

William Duschatko

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private 4 hour Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 19/18

Michele was excellent and gave us a very through and efficient round down of Montivideo.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear William and Ann, thank you so very much for your kind and nice review, it was really a pleasure meeting you, have a great year ahead and hope you make it back some day. All the best! Michelle

Lorena Gaxiola

Mexico
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour specially created for Lorena Gaxiola on Jan 1, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 1/18

We had a great time with Michelle! She is amazing, we had a great tour around the city. She explains everything Wonderfull. It was a hard day because it was January 1º and almost everything was closed, but Michelle did her best so we can see all the top things of Montevideo, and really we had a awesome time. She is very kind and sweet but she also is very prepared, and cultured people. Please if you are going to Montevideo, don't hesitate to take a Tour with Michelle, you will love her for sure

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for this great review! It was so nice meeting you and your lovely family, I’m truly happy you enjoyed the day. I thoroughly loved sharing my time with you, I felt as if I already had known you from long before. I hope you make it back so we can go to Punta del Este and either there or wherever, we can taste an exquisite “asado”. I wish you a great year ahead! Fondly, Michelle

Kim Kenin

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private 4 hour Shore Excursion Tour on Dec. 25th created for Kim Giamken, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 25/17

My husband and I spent Christmas morning with our wonderful guide Michelle V. Her English was excellent, she was extremely pleasant, and very knowledgeable. A great tour - 5 stars!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Kim for your nice review. I loved meeting you and Michael, I did enjoy spending the morning with you, you are keen observers and very perceptive. I wish you all the best for the New Year ahead, health, wealth and happiness, hope you make it back someday. Warm regards, Michelle

Harvey H.

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private 4 hour Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 21/17

Michelle Vasen was excellent. She did everything within her power to ensure we enjoyed our tour. She's very accommodating, always willing to tailor the tour to suit our request. Also, her driver, "William" was great. We can go on with specifics, but we highly recommend Michelle. Thanks Tours By Locals for hiring Michelle, and a BIG THANKS to Michelle.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Tnanks to you Harv for this WONDERFUL review!! When you were e-mailing me I thought you were a serious and demanding person.... Wow! What a BIG difference, a cool, fun and warm friend I felt I already knew from long ago. Thank you for choosing me as your host, I loved and enjoyed doing your tour! I wish you all the best for this New Year, health, happiness and prosperity. And certainly hope to see you back, cheers! Michelle

Brian Delaney

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private 4 hour Shore Excursion Tour for Brian Delaney on Nov. 13th, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 13/17

Michelle gave us an excellent overview of the city with lots of historical and cultural information. Her English is excellent and she is proud of her city.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Brian very much for your review. I enjoyed meeting you and sharing some time together. When I dropped you off at the Port and 10 minutes later the front desk called me to report you had left your backpack in the van, I was very concerned, but I returned to the Port, parked next to your cruise and almost flew inside to find you... but you got it and that was my goal. Wish you all the best and a great year ahead! Michelle

Tracy Allen

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Oct 29/17

Michelle was a fabulous guide - very knowledgeable about Uruguay history. Her husband, Gabriel also came and both were a fountain of information. Professional, prompt, excellent English, friendly - would highly recommend. She went above and beyond.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Tracy and Martin, thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I'm happy I had the opportunity to meet you and could be part of your special weekend in Montevideo. I loved hosting you, you made it all so easy. Thanks for such a nice lunch, hope you enjoyed the Pittamiglio Castle and could learn about his home and life. If you wish more information, here we are, your friends in Uruguay. Warmest regards for you and family. Will send the promised photos, Michelle

Robert Lunt

South Africa
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Bread and Food Excursion Tour specially created for Robert Lunt on September 9th, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Sep 9/17

Michelle organised a bespoke tour of street food and bakeries as we requested. It was well organised and a pleasure driving around Montevideo with a driver guide in a comfortable car 8 seater bus.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Robert for your nice feedback. It was my pleasure meeting you. It was a very creative tour and fun too. I hope you have a great time in Valparaiso and Asunción and that this trip may enrich your business. All the best for you and Roger. Hope to see you back! Michelle

Jeff Carrier

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour specially created for Jeff Carrier on August 17th, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Aug 17/17

Michelle, along with her husband Gabriel were very helpful and accommodated my every request. Both are retired professionals, very good English and have great knowledge of the area. I highly recommend for anyone who wants to visit Montevideo and surrounding area!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: We thank you so very much Jeff for your great feedback. It was so nice meeting you and sharing some time together. We wish you an enjoyable stay in Uruguay, a tasty piece of meat tonight, (ojo de bife is one of the best), and an amazing time at the Iguazú waterfalls. All the best for your lovely family and a strong hug for you. Hope to see you back. Michelle

Donald Liss

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 23/17

For people in a good general tour of Montevideo and especially as taste of the jewish sites, this was a terrific tour with a friendly, thorough, and knowledgeable Guide. We learned about the visitors of Uruguay and also its jewish community, as well as seeing the synagogues, school, and community center. We visited the holocaust memorial site as well. All in all excellent and highly recommended

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Elisabeth and Donald for your wonderful review. I loved doing your tour, you were so nice to spend time with. Hope you enjoyed lunch. I wish you a great year ahead, warm regards, Michelle

Michael McComb

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 18/17

Interesting tour by a knowledgeable local guide. Gave us a very good overview of Montevideo. Would not hesitate to recommend her tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mike for your kind review. It was my pleasure meeting you and enjoyed spending time together. Best of wishes, Michelle

Ken C.

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Shore Excursion Tour (February 3, 2017), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 3/17

This tour changed from our original booking because the winery tour increased in duration and cost. The city tour was very good. Michelle was very knowledgeable and helpful. Her recommendation for lunch at a local restaurant was excellent.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Ken for your nice review. It was wonderful meeting you all. Hope Deanna got all her notes, if she needs any additional information, it will be a pleasure. Warm regards, Michelle

Anthony Martino

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 9/17

Michelle did a very good job showing us the sites of Montevideo and giving us some great perspectives on the city and Uruguay.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Tony so much for your wonderful review. It was so nice meeting you! I wish you a great 2017 and all the best, michelle

William Donald

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 8/17

Michelle went out of her way to provide us with a great tour. It was just unfortunate that everything conspired against us. The ship was very late, the weather was terrible and it was too dark to see much. But, I would still recommend Michele totally to anyone, anywhere.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Leslie and Bill, thank you for your wonderful review! Despite the time, the storm and the darkness, it was such a great pleasure meeting you, you are really cool. Have a great year ahead! Best wishes, Michelle

Michael Baxter

NSW, 2290, Australia
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private 4 hour Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 1/17

Michelle is an excellent guide who I would highly recommend

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Mike and Jill, thank you so much for your nice review, it was certainly a great pleasure meeting you, you made it all so easy. I'm happy you enjoyed. I wish you a very nice trip in South America and further in New Zeland. A great great year ahead for you and all the family. Warm regards, Michelle

Ellen W.

United States
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Shore Excursion Tour December 22nd Ellen Winchell, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 22/16

Michelle was lovely and we enjoyed spending the day with her. Fortunately, her husband (also a guide) accompanied her, as she had a foot injury. He also could fill in with some missing gaps of knowledge, which admittedly were not part of the tour but just our specific interests.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Ellen, thank you very much for your kind review. It was a real pleasure meeting you all. Have a great year ahead. All the best, michelle

Brenda Hendricks

United States
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery private Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 21/16

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Brenda, thank you so much for your feedback, it was certainly a pleasure meeting you. I wish you a great year ahead hoping to see you back some day in the near future. Warm regards, Michelle

Dean Peyton

United States
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Shore Excursion Tour(Nov.5th, 2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 5/16

We were a party of four arriving by Oceania cruise ship. Michelle promptly met us at the cruise port and we headed out for our tour. We toured beautiful Montevideo where Paula showed us the highlights and gave us a history of the city. We then headed out of the city to the Bouza Winery. We had a tour of the winery which included an outstanding and elegant lunch with wine pairing. We had a wonderful day with Michelle and would highly recommend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Dean, thank you so much for your wonderful review! I loved meeting you and doing your tour. I wish you all the best and hope you liked the "alfajores". Have a great year ahead, cheers! Michelle

Nancy Resnick

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Apr 18/16

Michelle and Gabriel are lovely people who made sure our needs were met. They are well versed in the history of the city and were most accommodating.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Nancy, thank you for this great review and thank you for having chosen me to be your tour guide. It was lovely meeting you and Alan. Have fun and enjoy! Hope to see you back in Uruguay or in Arizona. Warmest regards, Gabriel and Michelle Sent from my iPhone

Jan-Peter Brodersen

Germany
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 9/16

I was very pleased with her tour. She is very knowlegable and is very easy going.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Jan-Peter, danke vielmals for your nice feedback. It was certainly my pleasure sharing the day with you and I also enjoyed learning about your interesting trips. I wish you an amazing stay in Uruguay and a great year ahead!! All the best, Michelle

Faye Kelly

Midlothian, VA, United States
Rating

Tour: #39405, Punta del Este from Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 27/16

Beautiful if you like to see all of the scenery and don't mind long rides. We loved it and saw what no one else did.

Kim Austin

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour Feb 19th, 2016, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 19/16

Michelle was there to meet the cruise ship. We were able to see multiple sights and had a wonderful local lunch. We were returned right on time.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Kim for your nice feedback. I'm happy you liked the chivito for lunch. If you ever drink mate, let me know. It was nice meeting you, Jim, Angela and Tim. A big hug for you all and hope to see you back someday in the future. Have a great year ahead! Warm regards, Michelle

Bridget Fisher

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 27/16

Michelle is an excellent guide and took great care of us - even taking me to a pharmacy to get treatment for my blisters ( not caused by this tour!). She ensured we saw all the sights of Montivideo - a beautiful city - in comfort and at a pace to suit us. We recommend Michelle as a great guide. We enjoyed an amazing lunch in the port market at a place suggested by Michelle.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Bridget, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm happy you liked the tour and felt at ease. That's my goal. I hope your blisters healed quickly. Have a great year ahead, hope to see you back someday. Take care! Warmest regards, Michelle

Timothy Vicente

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour (Jan.11, 2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 11/16

No complaints about the tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Tim, I thank you so much for your review. I loved doing your tour. Did your daughter like the T-shirt you bought in Punta? I hope you make it back to Uruguay soon. Warm regards, michelle

Timothy Vicente

United States
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Shore Excursion Tour (Jan 10, 2016), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 10/16

Michelle did a good job f showing us around Punta del Este. She gave us a variety of looks at this beautiful city.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Tim, thank you for your kind words. It was very nice meeting you, Gary, Bonnie and Betsy. And I did truly enjoyed sharing my time with you. Hope to see you again. Have a great year ahead. All the best, Michelle

Ann Landau

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour (Jan 5th, 2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 5/16

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Ann for your review. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and sharing such a nice time in your company. Have a great year ahead. Best, Michelle

Jerry Olderman

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 1/16

Michelle is the perfect example of a model tour guide and superior in every way to all the five others we employed on our tour of Southern South America. Michelle went out of her way to make arrangements for our special and unorthodox requests and was able to manage this for our New Year's day tour. She is a profe Michelle was thorough in her guidance and in answering our questions. We vividly recall the many interesting things we accomplished and wholeheartedly recommend her to everyone.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Jerry and Myrna, thank you so very deeply for your great great review. I loved hosting you on the first day of this new year, I did really enjoy it. You were so engaging and wonderful to spend time with. I wish you both the best and a great year ahead. Thank you again, hope you make it back to Uruguay! Warmest regards, Michelle

Kenneth W.

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights Jewish Shore Tour (Dec. 21,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 21/15

We thoroughly enjoyed our Jewish Cultural Tour of Montevideo with Michelle. Her knowledge and enthusiasm were contagious. In addition to showing us the synagogues of Montevideo and explaining the history of Jews in the city, she also showed us many other features of Montevideo's history and current culture. Even after the tour was over, she stayed with us on her own time to show us the Mercado near the port.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Ken, thank you so much for your nice review. It was so nice meeting you all that time seemed too short. I hope you can make it with the "mate", if not, you need to come back for some lessons, haha. A very strong hug for you, Linda, Carolyn and David and a happy, healthy and wealthy New Year! Warm regards, Michelle

Kerry Keenan

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour (Dec. 4th,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 4/15

My wife and I were lucky enough to have Michelle guide us through Montevideo December, 2015. My wife and I are both Architects. We enjoy architecture, history, culture and art. Montevideo has all of this and we were VERY fortunate to benefit from the broad experiences/knowledge of Michelle. She is intelligent, insightful, interesting, hospitable and gracious. Highly recommended tour and tour guide. It felt like we were visiting family... really.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Kerry and Linda, thank you so so much for your great review! You were so engaging and wonderful to spend time with! It was really nice meeting you I would have stayed hours showing you more and more. Wow, I also felt the same! I wish you the very best for this New Year, happy, healthy and wealthy. Come back soon! Warmest regards.

Abhijit Basu

India
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Tour (March 4, 2015.Start 10:30 am), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 4/15

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you again Abhijit. I so appreciate your kind words. I am sure you will remember amazing Punta del Este when you look at your nice magnets! I hope you'll visit us again someday. Best regards to you all, Michelle

Abhijit Basu

India
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour (March 3, 2015 Start 10:30 am), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 3/15

Michelle was an excellent guide for our tour of Montevideo & Punta del Este the next day. She is knowledgeable and goes out of her way to help the group, which consisted of 2 very senior travellers. Her English is not exactly fluent but if you are slow and clear, she picks up and responds adequately - a very minor distraction, that requires patience. Otherwise, recommended.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Abhijit, thank you so much for your review. It was my pleasure meeting you all and showing you my beautiful Montevideo city. Despite the storm at the end, I truly enjoyed sharing the day with you! I hope you are having a wonderful time specially in Machu Pichu. All the best! Michelle

David Berry

United States
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour (February 25, 2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 25/15

Michelle was prompt and informative. Some of the city highlights could not be visited due to the planned inauguration of the president and city buildings were closed. We visited a nice winery, Bouza, which included a tour and wine tasting. The wine tasting did include a charge of $20 per person but was worth it. A recommended tour of Montevideo.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi David, thank you vrey much for your feedback. It was so nice meeting you and sharing my time with you! I hope you'll visit us again someday. All the best, Michelle

Diane Cranston

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour (Feb. 21,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 21/15

Michelle was very knowledgable, friendly and did her best to provide us with a informative tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Diane, thank you for your review. It was my pleasure meeting you. Best regards to you all. Michelle

Kerry Krause

Australia
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 16/15

Michelle was fantastic. She has wonderful knowledge, is friendly and caring, and took great care of my disabled wife. For a comprehensive tour of Motevideo, Michelle is the guide to use

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Kerry, thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a joy and an honor to be your guide. You are lovely people. I am already looking forward to sharing another tour together. Take care! My love to you both! Michelle

Noel L.

United States
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Tour (Jan. 30 th,2015), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 30/15

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Noel, thank you so much for your wonderful rating! I loved fosting you and your lovely friends, you made it all so easy. I do hope to see you back! Warm regards to you all. Michelle

Jim Grant

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 22/15

Pleasant, informative, answered all our questions about Montevideo and Uruguay. When we return we will hope to have another great experience with Michelle. P.S. Thanks helping us pick out the Mate at the market.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Jim and Wendy, thank you so much for your great review. I loved hosting you! You made it all so easy. I suggest your buying some more "Yerba mate" for your mate, but should ask for one which says "para nerviosos' because it's not as strong as the others. You can use sugger, sweetner or just nothing. If you have any question of any sort or need any information, write to me. It will be a great pleasure helping you. I do really hope to see you back in the near future. All the best, warmst, Michelle

Dwayne Jacobson

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour (Saturday Jan 10th, 2014), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 10/15

Michelle welcomed us at the port and soon we were ion our way in a Van and Driver to tour many spots in Montevideo. One of the highlights and a must when visiting Montevideo is the Bouza Winery tour. We are in the restaurant business and have toured many Wineries, but this one was the most informative and so well done down to the last drop at our tasting table.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dwayne and Sharon, thank you! I so appreciate your kind words and very much enjoyed meeting you all. I felt as if I would have known you for long. I do really hope I will have the chance of meeting you in the future. Warmest regards, Michelle

Kimberly Brien

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo Market Winery Tour (Jan.2nd,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 2/15

Peggy B.

United States
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo Winery and Heritage Tour (Dec Sat. 6, 2014), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 6/14

Michelle Thank you for a delightful day. We had such a peaceful time at the winery and we thoroughly appreciated the information you both provided about the region and the history. Great day Thank you both.

Miriam Goldberg

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour on Nov.29th,2014, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 29/14

excellent guide; very knowledgeable and communicative; English was good - saw a good overview in 4-5 hours

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Miriam for your feedback! I loved meeting you and doing your tour. I wish you all a great New Year and hope you can make it back to Uruguay. Warm regards. Michelle

Janet Ware

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 29/14

Very cordial but we felt that our tour was lacking in enthusiasm.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hey Janet, it was great meeting you. This review took me by surprise, since this is the first time I have ever heard that one of my tours lacked enthusiasm. I remember that day being very hot so the heat could have affected me in a way that I didn’t notice. I am sorry about that!

David S.

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour Nov 28,2014, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 28/14

Michelle gave us a great tour of Montevideo. She is charming with good English. I would recommend her.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: David and Kate, thank you so much for your nice review! You were so engaging and wonderful to spend time with! I hope you can make it again back to Montevideo. I am already looking forward to it!! All the very best. Warm regards, Michelle

Nachman Maister

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Car/Van Tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 12/14

100% satisfied, Michelle we found to be a pleasant well spoken young lady who really explained what we wanted to know and things we had not really thought about. Highly recommended. (Natie) Nachman

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Natie I so appreciate your kind words and very much enjoyed meeting you both. I hope you'll visit us again someday. All the best!! Michelle

Terry Moore

Clackamas, OR, United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 8/14

Michelle was knowledgeable and a great guide. Our ship was 4 hours late in arriving but we managed to communicate via email and she adapted the change. Great job!!

Sherry Fages

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (March 7th,2014), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 7/14

My husband and I without question give this tour a 5 star rating. The tour guide Michelle and her husband Gabriel (also a tour guide), who accompanied us for part of the tour, could not have been nicer or more knowledgeable about their city and country. They went out of their way to fit this tour in for us as they were booked for our date several months in advance. They took us all over and talked of history, styles of architecture, political history, and local highlights. They were great.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Sherry, thank you for this great review and thank you for having chosen me to be your tour guide. It was lovely meeting you and Sheldon, you were so wonderful to spend time with. Hope you make it back to Uruguay soon! Warmest regards, Michelle

Terry Moore

Clackamas, OR, United States
Rating

Tour: Colonia Tour World Heritage City . A day visit from Montevideo, Colonia, Uruguay
Date: Mar 7/14

Due to the late arriving of the ship had to juggle and Michelle handled it well. Very knowledgeable and we had a great day!!!

Annette Gallard

Point Clare, NSW, Australia
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour(March 3, 2014), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 3/14

Thank you MIchelle for a wonderful day spent in beautiful Montevideo. We could not wish for a more efficient, friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. We highly recommend Michelle as your tour guide, you cannot go wrong. Thank you again Michelle fro a beautiful day. It was lovely to meet Patricia as well and we really enjoyed her company. Thank you from all four of us. Annette & Geoff

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Annette, thank you so much for your nice words and rating. I loved hosting you. You made everything so easy. I look forward to meeting you again soon. All the best and warm regards for you all. Michelle Enviado desde mi iPhone

Bonnie Barnes

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 22/14

We thoroughly enjoyed our day with Michelle, touring Montevideo. Her knowledge of the city is deep, her enthusiasm for her home is contagious, she is sensitive to her guests' interests and adapts her tour to them, and being with her is simply a delight. We highly recommend Michelle as a guide for Montevideo!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Bonnie and Mark, thank you so much for your rating! It was a joy and an honor to be your guide. I hope you make it back to Uruguay, I'll help you!! All the best for you and your family. Warmst regards, Michelle

Peter Wernicki

United States
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Tour, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 4/14

Michelle was a great guide. She gave us an intimate, knowledgeable tour. She even included a special private tour to meet a local artist. We highly recommend her to anyone!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Peter, thank you so much for your kind words and great review. It was very nice meeting you all, it was fun and I did truly enjoy the tour. Have a great year and hope to see you someday soon in Montevideo. All the best!! Michelle Enviado desde mi iPhone

Louis Brown Gertrude Brown

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Feb.3rd, 2014), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 3/14

Michelle was very accommadating. Unfortunately, we never went into a Sephardic synagogue but only drove by one. Time was well allocated.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Louis, thanks for your review. Nice meeting you. We visited the Ashkenazi Synagogue, the most important and representative with a guided visit for almost an hour. I specially contacted for you and Rabbi, Director Culture Dept. who kindly showed us around the Holocaust Survivor's Museum the synagogue itself, the Dissability Dept. and others which are part of the great job this Community offers. We did see all other important sites. My Jewish Tours are designed to enter just one synagogue. Best to you all!!

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: Michelle was surprised by this review and informed me that she not only booked a visit to the Sephardic synagogue in advance but that she visited the Sephardic synagogue with the customers. I forwarded a note the Michelle sent me pointing out the fact that they visited that synagogue and they recognize that and apologized for the confusion.

Alexander Matyushkin

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 1/14

Michelle is extremely professional and efficient guide. She showed us all "must see" points in very engaging and efficient way. Out of all tours that we had during the cruise, Michelle's was the best. Very highly recommended! Thank you, Michelle!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Alex, I thank you so much for your kind words and nice feedback. Also for having had the opportunity to meet you showing you around my beautiful Montevideo city and most of all, for the pleasure of enjoying your company. A great year for you three!!! "Un abrazo fuerte" for cute and intelligent Allan and my warmest regards for you both. Michelle Enviado desde mi iPhone

Gary Perlin

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Car/Van Tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 22/13

We spent a spectacular day seeing Montevideo with Michelle during our recent cruise. The experience began prior to our arrival, when Michelle was very helpful in designing our itinerary. We arrived at the pier early but Michelle was there smiling and ready to go. It was a Sunday so not everything was open, but she gave us a deeply insightful sense of Jewish history and life in the city as well as the culture around it. Michelle made it seem like we were visiting family... and in some way, we were!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Amy and Gary, I greatly thank you for your wonderful review. You were so lovely to spend time with that this was clearly one of the most enjoyable tours I've done. Hope you make it back to Uruguay soon! Warmest regards for you and your family, Michelle Enviado desde mi iPhone

Abe Nozetz

Canada
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Tour (Walking 2 and Half Hours- Car 2hrs), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 17/13

A well prepared tour and Michelle is very pleasant and helpful.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for your kind review. It was my pleasure meeting you. All the best, Michelle

Mark McElroy

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 30/13

Michelle is knowledgable and personable. She would make an especially good guide for someone with limited mobility, or elderly cruise ship guests who need to see the city at a slower pace.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Mark, i thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we coudn't find the tarot cards in either bookshops we looked for, you had all of them!!! I hope you liked the chivitos and maybe you can reproduce them at home! It was my pleasure sharing the day with you. All the best, Michelle

Johannes Crafford

South Africa
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 28/13

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Johan and Rene, thank you so much for your rating. You are "lecker" and I am lucky. Lucky to have had the opportunity meeting you. You are welcome EVER!!!! Warm regards, Michelle

Ronald Mandelbaum

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Car/Van Tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 8/13

We very much enjoyed having Michelle as our guide in Montevideo. She gave us a complete tour of the city and pointed out very interesting sites and facts about the city. Even though she had injured herself and was in discomfort, she insisted upon showing us everything she had planned. We are very appreciative.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Ron and Mercy, I greatly thank you for your sweet words and nice feedback. Also for having had the opportunity to meet you, show you around my beautiful city and most of all, for the pleasure of enjoying your company. Please give my warmest regards to Bob and Edry. I hope to see you back soon spending a great day in Punta del Este. Jag Pesaj Sameaj. With love, Michelle

Gary Koocher

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour Van Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 4/13

Michele provided us with an informative and insightful tour of Montevideo.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Gary, Rosalyn, Bruce and Rhona, I greatly thank you for your kind words and review, this motivates me to work even harder. I really enjoyed the tour and your company and I would have hoped time would had passed more slowly. Have a great Year. Warmest regards, Michelle

Gerald Hirsh

Costa Rica
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 2/13

Very informative and accommodating showed a variety of classes of housing areas from now to passed ages . Excellent value. Will use again in other places.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Gerald, thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. It was my pleasure meeting you all, I enjoyed the tour and it was fun in spite of the storm. You are welcome ever. Next trip to Punta del Este. Enjoy. My warmest regards to you all. Michelle

Geoffrey Summers

Australia
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 15/13

We very much enjoyed the tour today and saw much of Montevideo. The guide went to great lengths to keep us informed and we felt the tour was eccellent value.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I greatly thank you Geoffrey for your feedback and nice words. It was my pleasure meeting you all. I also enjoyed the tour and learnt from you about Australia. Have a wonderful trip and enjoy. All the best. Warm regards,Michelle

Jennifer Williams

Port Macquarie, N.S.W., Australia
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 15/13

I found this tour to be a bit boring, & it went on for far too long. Possibly my fault for choosing this particular one.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: Traveler comments were passed on to Jay's guide support manager who will re-assess his English skills accordingly.

Jennifer Williams

Port Macquarie, N.S.W., Australia
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 15/13

I have already made a comment on this tour.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: Traveler comments were passed on to Jay's guide support manager who will re-assess his English skills accordingly.

Laurie Saunders

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 15/13

I believe Michelle had some sort of accident prior to our tour taking place and was therefore slowed down a bit. However, her husband accompanied her and we found him to be extremely knowledgable. Overall we enjoyed the tour and would give it 4 1/2 stars.

Sara Cress

United States
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Tour (from Montevideo or starting in Punta del Este), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 2/13

Wonderful time. Very informative and we went several places ship tours didn't offer. Great for small groups who want personal service.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Sara for your kind words, and nice review.I did really enjoyed meeting you and had a great time with you all in Punta del Este. All the best, Michelle

Lou Emmert

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 1/13

Michelle is very knowledgeable and was very accommodating.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Lou for your kind words and review. It was nice meeting you. All the best, Michelle

Alice Laurendine

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 5/13

Michelle was one of the most knowledgeable tour guides we had. Due to some eye issues she has, she travels with an assistant to help her. This was an added bonus for us--the more the merrier! We learned so much about Montevideo, Uruguay, and saw the main sights along the way. Michelle is an enjoyable person to be with and made our tour very special.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Alice, I thank you for your kind words. I did enjoy meeting you and showing you around my beautiful Montevideo. I hope to see you back. My warmest regards to you all. Michelle

Ann P.

Honolulu, HI, United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Car/Van Tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 25/12

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Ann and Jordan, thank you so much for your rating.It was my pleasure meeting you and I did really enjoy the tour.I hope Jordan feels better.A big kiss. Warm regards, Michelle

Igal C.

Israel
Rating

Tour: #13644, Colonia Montevideo and Punta del Este City Tours, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 18/12

I cannot undermine the positive effect of Michele and Gabriel in the success of our Uruguay visit with guidance on hotels, transportation and place to visit. They helped us to find transportation and hotels on our planned visit the country's interior. They were kind, friendly and supported us on any need: shopping, restaurants, even bureaucratic issues. We toured 3 locations at touristic and less usual sites. The excellent explanations provided a different and interesting perspective of Uruguay's history.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Igal and Rachel, we thank you for your kind words and nice review. It was certainly our pleasure meeting you and being of any help, it's our goal. You are real special people and we do hope to see you again. We enjoyed every moment spent together. Our best regards to your parents and a big kiss for you both.

David King

Dallas, TX, United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Sep 27/12

Michelle and her husband Gabriel (who also is a Tours-by-Locals guide) both gave us the tour of Montevideo. Although Michelle is a very sweet and kind woman, she cannot really guide anymore secondary to her eyesight. She did provide nice details of the sights we visited though. Gabriel got us in to see the Montevideo Naval museum, despite the fact it was closed. Gabriel was the driver, and he drove a rental car. The driving was erratic, jerky and frightening. We cannot recommend this tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: We are surprised and sad with this review, we feel the review is unfair. We have an exemplar track record to back us up. The passengers could have expressed their dislikes during the tour and we would have been glad to pleased them, that is our goal, that is what we do everyday. Michelle only delivers tours she is sure that she is capable of delivering and as per the driving, in our country the traffic is disorganized and we went back to the airport during rush hour, so there were traffic jams everywhere.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: The issues stated in this review were brought up to the guide and the guide's manager attention.

Ann McPhee

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 hour tour to Old City colonial sites - Pocitos neighborhood), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 25/12

This was combined with our tour by van - comments as before.

Ann McPhee

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 25/12

Michelle was a very good guide who ensured we saw as much of Montevideo as possible.We learned a lot about Uruguyan history which was interesting.She was friendly and a very pleasant lady. We very much enjoyed our time with her.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Anne, I thank you so much for your nice comment and review. It was my pleasure showing you my Montevideo city and sharing a great time with you all. Happy Easter! Warm regards, Michelle

Patricia Pandel

United States
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour van for 3 passengers, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 24/12

Michelle was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. She was prompt and listened to our requests. I will highly recommend her to our travelling friends

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Patti, thank you so much for your nice comment and review. I really had a great time with you all. Thanks again for the wine, it is delicious and it reminds me of you, a very special family. I do really hope to see you again in the near future. Warmest regards, Michelle

Janice Davis

United States
Rating

Tour: #13644, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour mixed with Jewish landmarks, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 20/12

A good guide with lots of knowledge. We really liked her. J & t

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Jan for your kind words and great review. It was my pleasure meeting you all and I truly enjoyed every moment we spent together, time always seems so short. Thanks again. Warmest regards, Michelle

Chris Franklin

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 hour tour to Old City colonial sites - Pocitos neighborhood), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 18/12

Somewhat disappointed with the content and presentation of the tour. Definitely not worth the tour cost

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Chris, yes, you are right. The tour was supposed to be a 6 hour tour and we only did 3, half of it. You didn’t see the best part. Unfortunately, because of the unusual hot day we had on the day of the tour, plus one of the passengers didn’t feel well since the beginning of the tour you chose to get back to the cruise.

Carol Dench

Rochester, KENT, United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Old City-Pocitos Walking Tour (by City transportation bus or taxi), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 17/12

Thanks to Gabriel stepping in to Michelle's shoes at the last minute we had a great day in Montevideo. Michelle couldn't take us on our tour due to ill health (hope you are feeling much better Michelle)instead her husband Gabriel took us and showed us around. We saw so much more than we ever would have left to our own devices, it was a terrific tour covering the history and architecture of Montivideo. A day well spent.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Carol, thanks so much for your nice and kind words, I'm better thank you (although I was operated on). I'm truly happy you were in great hands and you saw and knew a lot about this beautiful city enjoying your day. I hope to see you someday in the near future having the opportunity to show you around in Punta del Este. Till then! Warm regards, Michelle

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: Gabriel and Michelle are both ToursByLocals guides and in circumstances such as illness are able to fill in for each other.

William Doherty

United States
Rating

Tour: #12377, Punta del Este Tour (from Montevideo or starting in Punta del Este), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 13/12

Michelle and the driver were great. At the end of the tour, when we asked for a tourist shop for t-shirts, the driver took us back a distance and waited for my wife and I (she uses a cane) so she wouldn't have to walk back to the dock. This was above and beyond what we expected.

Andreas Thedy

Switzerland
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Old City and Colonia World Heritage City Tour. A day visit from Montevideo, Colonia, Uruguay
Date: Feb 10/12

Michelle is a very kind and caring guide. She also prepared a handout (take home copy) with some information about Montevideo, Colonia de Sacramento and Uruguay's history. Comparing her skills with the guides we had on our other three tours during our trip in South America, we must admit that she did not live up to the same standard of the other guides. Her knowledge about Montevideo seemed more profound than about Colonia de Sacramento.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Andrea, I appreciate your review. It was nice meeting you. Comparing the history and heritage of such a small and lovely town as Colonia, it never had the rich and colorful histories and events happened in other bigger South American cities and places. Everything what I told you about Colonia during our tour is all what can be told about it and its place in Uruguay’s history. As you said, Montevideo a bigger city has much more stories to tell. Kind regards.

Elizabeth Waghorn

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 24/12

We had a wonderful tour of Montevideo. Michelle was an excellent guide. She was extremely knowledgeable about her city and we would recommend her highly. She made our tour and lunch at a local restaurant most enjoyable and we really appreciate the time spent with her. Thanks, Michelle.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Elizabeth and Gary, thank you so much for your nice words and review, it was my pleasure meeting you and spending such a nice time together. I also thank you for your beautiful present, a maple leaf which I always have besides me. A big kiss for you both and I hope to see you soon. Warm regards, Michelle

Carole Lalor

United States
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 22/12

Michelle is fluent in English and knows Montevideo inside and out. We had a tour of the city that was in depth and extensive. Most of all, she made me want to come back to explore the city in depth. She was able to smooth the language differences at the winery and made our day most enjoyable.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Carole, thank you so much for your nice and kind words. I really enjoy what I do and I truly look for ways to share the best of myself. I greatly enjoyed your company and I would have stayed longer. I hope you do come back soon so I will have the opportunity to show you lots more. A big kiss for you Carole and my best regards to your wonderful group. See you soon!!

Jane Cipolla

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11543, Montevideo and Winery Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 18/12

Michele did an excellent job. She was so concerned that we would not meet her that she personally called our home to doublecheck that we knew her location. Her knowledge and pride of her country was evident. She was quick to make sure that our tour had met all our expectations. Our trip to the winery was interesting and entertaining. When she realized that we wanted to go to the local market at the end of the tour, she even stayed with us to help locate the items we wanted to purchase. Highly recommend!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Jane, thank you so much for your nice and moving words. It was a real pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed every moment we spent together showing you and Charlie and Jane and Brian a little bit of this great city. I felt you were really special and I hope to see you again in the near future either to go to Punta del Este or just tasting some more wines. A big kiss for you and please give my regards to the wonderful group. All the best! Michelle

Albert Kirkley

Canada
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 hour tour to Old City colonial sites - Pocitos neighborhood), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Jan 9/12

Michelle is a very nice woman who really cares about the group. She is soft spoken so you need to be close to her to hear. She has a good knowledge of the city and its history but was not able to answer a few of our more detailed questions about specific items such as the icon in the cathedral that every was touching.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Albert for your review. It was nice meeting you all. All the best, Michelle

Donna Vogeler-Boutin

United States
Rating

Tour: Colonia World Heritage City Tour. A day visit from Montevideo, Colonia, Uruguay
Date: Dec 29/11

Enjoyed meeting Michelle - Unfortunate several museums closed. Feel this is a tour one can do easily on their own, but nice to talk to a local from the country. Reason for not giving this tour 5 stars.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I thank you Donna for your star rating. It was nice meeting you. You are right. Colonia del Sacramento is a small city and can be visited on foot in around 4 hours, which is stated in my tour description. As it is an historic city, Colonia offers to the tourist different visits to museums. Unfortunately they take turns to close, so everyday in the week there are two or three closed. This is the way it is.

Mark Davis

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Car/Van Tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 24/11

Michelle was the best! Very knowledgable of Jewish heritage sites and local information about city. She was personable and easy to talk with and made the day outstanding. Took us to a great restaurant to finish up the day. We had a mini van and a great driver so Michelle could talk to us as we drove. A must if you want a jewish heritage tour as she knows all first hand!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Mark and Carole, I want to thank you greatly for your comment, it has moved me deeply. Thank you so much for being such special persons. I really enjoyed every moment we spent together and I truly hope to meet you again. All the best for this New Year. A very very big kiss for you both, Michelle

Dick Sitts

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 20/11

Michelle really helped us prior to our arrival in Uruguay. She was very good with everything. We cut our tour short as we did not feel well. She gave her personel print out of information about the city.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Dick, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and showing you a bit of my beautiful city. I wish you a happy New Year and come back soon, we have still lots to explore. Take care, warm regards for you two, Michelle

Robert Goot

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Jewish Tour (Car/Van Tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 20/11

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Bob for your 5 star rating, I do really appreciate it. It was my pleasure meeting you all and I enjoyed every moment we spent together. I hope the wool "ponchos" will maintain you warm this winter. Season greetings and all the best. Warm regards for you all, Michelle

Sandra Burke

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Heritage Tour (by Car), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 19/11

We took a a Jewish tour of Montevideo with your guide, Michelle. We were pleased with the tour and with Michelle's enthusiasm for her city and her community. We would certainly recommend her to friends who visit Montevideo. Sandra

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Sandra, I do really tnank you so much for your five stars rsting and your commnet, it was my pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed showing you a bit of my beautiful city. I wish you a very happy New Year 2012, healthy and wealthy. Thank you, a big big hug, Michelle

Eleanor Joughin

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City Private Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 19/11

From the moment we first booked our tour, Michelle was helpful and efficient in accommodating our requests. We enjoyed every minute of her tour. We particularly appreciated her warmth and generosity (treating us to mandarin oranges at the market, advising us at the Old Port Market, etc). It was a treat to also meet her husband, Gabriel, whom we encountered en route. Michelle is knowledgeable, charming and efficient, and we highly recommend her. THANK YOU, Michelle!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Eleanor, Thank you so much for your nice comment. It was my pleasure meeting you and touring you around showing you a little of the best of my city. I did enjoy your visit and I hope to see you soon again. I will be always around for whatever you may need. Warmest regards for you all and a big kiss for you. Michelle

Stuart Finlayson

Parksville, BC, Canada
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City tour by car, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 27/11

We very much enjoyed our tour of Montevideo, not only because it is a beautiful city but also because of our guide, Michelle, who provided us with a well organized, informative tour. She was friendly, personable, professional and had an excellent command of the English language. Michelle had a wealth of knowledge to share and her enthusiasm made her commentary so much more interesting. We would certainly ask for her services again should we ever return to beautiful Montevideo. Stu & Baiba

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Stu and Baiba, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was my pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed every moment spent together showing you a little bit of this great city. I truly thank you for the beautiful pictures you took of us three and sent me. I felt you were special and I made two friends. I look forward to meeting you again. Take care. Warmest regards, Michelle

Debra Janis

United States
Rating

Tour: #11545, Montevideo Highlights and Heritage Tour (by Car), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 21/11

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Debra, I thank you for your star rating. Warm regards, Michelle

Harvey Miller

United States
Rating

Tour: Walking Montevideo Tours ( 2 passengers), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 18/11

We thoroughly enjoyed our day spent with Michelle walking through Montevideo, and then visiting the Positos neighborhood. It was a varied, and very interesting day. Michelle showed us the finer points of greater Montevideo, all the while sharing with us the history and culture of Uruguay. She then took us via cab to Positos to show us the lovely beach area and the beautiful architecture of the neighborhood. It was a delightful contrast. Lunch at Puerto Mercado was excellent. It was a Five Star Day!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Jacquie and Harvey, thank you so much for your kind words and for giving me the opportunity to meet you and to show you a little bit of this great city. I really enjoyed every moment shared with you and I do hope to see you again soon. A big kiss for you both.

Jack Neumann

United States
Rating

Tour: #11540, Montevideo City tour by car, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 12/11

Michelle displayed comprehensive knowledge in regard to historical and geographical details of her territory. She completed the tour with enthusiasm and flexiblility. We would not hesitate to recommend your company or your guides. Thank-you for providing a very pleasant experience.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Neumanns, Thank you so much for your nice comment. It was my pleasure meeting you and touring you around showing you a little of the best of my city. I did enjoy your visit and I hope to see you soon again. Warmest regards for both of you. Michelle