Traveler Reviews of Private Tours in St Petersburg Russia by Tour Guide Alexander S. (Guide #1611)


Dave Harris

Canada
Rating

Tour: #7811, St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Classic St. Petersburg for One Day Private Tour (June 11, 2018), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 11/18

Our guide was Alexander. We would rate him a 5. He was very knowledgeable about the history of St Petersburg. We were amazed by his recollection of dates and times in history. We would recommend him to anyone wanting to learn about St Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Joy and Dave, Thanks for high rating of my tour. I was happy to show you around and tell about the history of St Petersburg. I would be happy to be a private tour guide for you and your friends again.

Chinpo Chi

Taiwan
Rating

Tour: #26443, Three Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour (May 24-26, 2018), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 24/18

Alex is very knowledgeable and good control the timing and always follow our steps to let us have a nice journey. Thanks Alex !

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for high rating of my tour, Chinpo Chi! Enjoyed to be your tour guide for all three days! Have a nice trip in Russia!

Christina Dayman

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Feb 12/18

Alex is an incredible tour guide and we enjoyed our day with him very much. We can't believe how much we saw in just one day! Alex is incredibly knowledgeable and gave us a fantastic understanding of Russian history and the city of Saint Petersburg. Would highly recommend Alex for anyone wishing to learn as much as they possibly can in one day! Thank you so much again Alex - you went above and beyond!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Christina and Richard! I wish I was available to be your tour guide on the second day. We had a great day and I hope to see you again in St Petersburg!

Keith Meredith

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6965, Peterhof - A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars from Peter I till Nicholas II (November 17, 2017), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Nov 17/17

Alex was a superb guide and offered exactly what we wanted. A full days tour of the must see sights plus a half day to the Peterhof. His English was excellent and he was most informative and obliging. I can certainly recommend both Alex and ToursByLocals. Many thanks

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for high rating of my tour, Keith! I was happy to show you around our beautiful city and Peterhof. Enjoy your time in St Petersburg!

Nancy Douglas

Canada
Rating

Tour: #6537, Imperial St. Petersburg Shore Excursion Tour for Two Days (September 5-6, 2017), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 5/17

very well planned tour.Alex was a thorough guide who supplied much info and answered all our questions.He took us to an authentic Russian restaurant which we requested and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere.The driver was amazing and the car comfortable.We were very happy with our choice of tours and not the cruise suggestions.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for high rating of the tour, Nancy! Enjoyed your company and was very happy to show you around for two days!

Robin Lee

Australia
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 1/17

Alex is very knowledgeable, and also very accommodating. He designed a great tour based on our requests and his experience. It was an excellent experience and great value.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for high rating of the tour, Robin! Enjoyed both days with you and Bernard very much.

Lauren Mushegain

United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 29/17

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Lauren! Thank you very much for high rating of my tour!

Jennifer Williams

Australia
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 17/17

Alexander was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable about the city and its history. He took time to find out what we wanted to see and was happy to take detours for sights that took our interest. We were happily exhausted by the end of the two days and thrilled with our new knowledge of St. Petersburg. Thanks you Alexander!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for high rating of the tour, Jennifer! I did my best to show you around as much as possible for less that two days. Enjoyed both days with you and your family!

Annemarie Salowski

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, Imperial St. Petersburg Shore Excursion Tour for Two Days, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 15/17

Alexander was very polite and very focused. He spoke excellent English He led our group of 6 for two days. He was very knowledgeable. He gave us lots of historical and architectural information

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for your response, Annemarie! We could see a lot for 2 days and I enjoyed to show you and your group of 6 around our beautiful city.

Maxine McLeod Miller

United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Classic St. Petersburg Shore Excursion Tour for One Day (August 13, 2017), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 13/17

It was a long day and we were exhausted by the end of it but boy did we see St. Petersburg! Alexander is a fountain of knowledge and we cannot recommend him highly enough.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for your review, Maxine! I did my best to show you as much as possible for two great days!

Julia Olree

United States
Rating

Tour: #6735, St Petersburg Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Catherine Palace and Savior on the Spilled Blood Church, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 10/17

Alexander is quite knowledgeable about the buildings we visited including Catherine's Palace and Church on Spilled Blood. He didn't provide cultural context and the 8hr trip booked was completed in 6hrs with no offer for additional sightseeing nor explanation.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: .

Lec Tipsukon Kitjatanapan

Thailand
Rating

Tour: #59465, One Day in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 6/17

Shudn't have over charged us for all admissions tickets amounting another 160 Euro in total for Hermitage n Peterhoff. 2 adult 2 children for lower garden at Peterhoff was only 1500 ruble n he charged us 80 euros for a walk in no pre arrange purchase. This is supposed to be a trusted private tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I'm sorry to hear that the customer didn't like the tour. She called me one day before her arrival and I had to pay double price to arrange all admission tickets, including 'skip the line' tickets to the Hermitage museum and Peterhof gardens for 4 people. We didn't visit the Peterhof Palace because I had to book the tickets at least 2 weeks before the arrival. We didn't go to the supermarket because of the lack of time, but they could buy everything they needed at the local market.

Deborah Troxel

United States
Rating

Tour: #117321, Magnificent St. Petersburg Shore Excursion Tour for Three Days (July 21-23, 2017), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 21/17

Alexander is a fabulous guide. His English is perfect, his knowledge of Russian history is VAST. He is seriously punctual, organized and someone you can trust. We were able to leave our belongings in the van while we visited the Palaces and the Hermitage without worry. Alexander bought the best tickets for entrance into every venue. He aims to please. (His wife has a PhD in English). We all (there were 6 of us) highly recommend Alexander S. We saw and did everything we wanted to within the three days.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words, Deborah! It was really a great pleasure to show you around our beautiful city and its summer palaces. You were one of my best customers ever! Enjoy your cruise! I will keep the bottle of champagne from you for a special occasion. It will be my birthday. :)))

Steve Bows

Australia
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 16/17

Alexander constructed a tour for us with two action-packed days, day one Peter and Paul Fortress and the Hermitage, and day two Peterhof with St Isaacs Cathedral. Along the way we got to see a few metro stations as well as Peter the Great's original log cabin, which was offered as an optional extra. Alexander was very knowledgeable about all of these sites, as well as useful advice on which of the other (200!) museums might be worth a visit, and where to go for dinner. All in all, an excellent tour!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Steve, Thanks for your kind words and comments! Usually my customers want me to show as much as possible and I expected it from you and Maria as well. I wish you let me know you were hungry earlier and we could easily have lunch in a good place.

Phyllis Low

Singapore, Singapore
Rating

Tour: #59465, One Day in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver (June 29, 2017), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 29/17

We used ToursbyLocals in Stockholm, Helsinki and St Petersburg while on our Baltic Cruise June-July 2017. Alexander was an industrious guide and tried his best to plan and include all of our requests. Only problem was his English was a bit lacking and he was not so understanding to needs of four 70 year-olds. All in all, we had a great time in St. Petersburg, especially riding on the underground trains and admiring the different sculpture and decorations at each station. Thank you, Alexander.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your feedback, Phyllis! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time in St Petersburg. I'm sorry to hear that I was sometimes hard to understand of four 70 year olds.

Sheila Danese Knott-Craig

United States
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 20/17

Unbelievable 2 day experience with Alexander. His knowledge of history, art, architecture is excellent and adaptability to our different Culture and language made it all perfect. Customized for us, we covered tons more than expected,unique info, bypassed the long lines at museums.He knew the best photo points also!:)His suggestions for rest of our trip, details and list of tips made it effortless and exciting! Alexander was the best ever!! Thank you for an unforgettable time!! Our best decision!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words, Danese! I was really happy to show you around the city for 2 great days. I've been thinking of you every time I pass your cozy hotel on the Moika river. :)))

David C.

Australia
Rating

Tour: #59465, One Day in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver (19 June, 2017), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 19/17

Alexander was Friendly, Organised and delivered what we discussed and he promised Happy To recommend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks, David! I was happy to organise and deliver the tour for your party.

Joshua Hester

United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 17/17

Alexander was a pleasure to have as a guide through St. Petersburg. He gave us exactly what we'd hoped for - an insider's look at the city the way that locals experience it. Very friendly and seamless experience from one activity to the next. Thanks again, Alex!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks, Josh! We had a great day and I enjoyed showing around the city with you and Erika!

William Martin

United States
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 15/17

Alex showed me St Petersburg and The Peterhof Palace on a two day personal walking tour. He has a outstanding understanding and knowledge of the area and history. On my next trip to Russia, Alex will be the first person I contact for scheduling for undated tour. Alex, thank you for great time. bill martin

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Bill, thank you very much for high rating of the tour! It was a great pleasure to show you around the city and Peterhof for two days. I will be happy to see you again!

William Martin

United States
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 14/17

Alex is great, please see my two day tour review in June 15th, 2017 bill martin

Douchka Noren

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, Imperial St. Petersburg Shore Excursion Tour for Two Days June 7-8, 2017), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 7/17

Alexander is a very good guide. His English is very good and his subject knowledge is excellent. He took us to all the most interesting places and told us all the details. We learned a lot. I can highly recommend Alexander as a guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for high rating of my tour, Douchka! I did my best to show you and Earl around the most famous sites of St Petersburg for two sunny days. Enjoy your cruise!

Barry Breen

Israel
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 15/17

We enjoyed our day of a long walking tour with Alex. He gave us a great overview of the city so we could be independent the next two days and spend time at the museums and other sites. The short ride on the metro was also very helpful since we then felt confident to purchase tokens and use the metro during the rest of our stay.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Barry, it is great to hear that you enjoyed our long walking tour on the first day and explored St Petersburg on your own using the metro!

Thomas Flinn

United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 10/17

We recently had the pleasure of being with Alexander for two days in St. Petersburg. Alexander proved to be very knowledgeable about St. Petersburg especially any works of art. I would definitely recomennend him to anyone visiting the area. Tom Flinn

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Tom! I had the pleasure of being your local tour guide and show you around our beautiful city and the Hermitage museum.

Linda Kelsey

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Oct 26/16

We were first time visitors to St Petersburg and sought a guide to help us navigate the city whilst providing 'insider' knowledge and cultural insights. Alexander was brilliant at both, and helped us make the most of our trip! Naturally we wanted to see top attractions including the Hermitage, and thanks to Alexander's researched and intelligent approach (and great English) we were able to couple these visits with hidden gems - the arresting Underground and Seige of Lenningrad Museum. Highly recommended!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Linda for your kind words and great review! I really hope to see you and your family again in St Petersburg and show you around both world-famous attractions and other local spots, off the beaten track.

Samantha Forster

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg Walking Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 28/16

Alex was a brilliant guide! Great email communication beforehand. He was so knowledgeable and had so much information to give. I had such a great day in St Petersburg made more memorable with Alex as my guide. Thank you so much Alex!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Samantha! I was really happy to be your tour guide and show you around St Petersburg last week. And many thanks for your gifts from England!

Kathy Jones

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, Imperial St. Petersburg Shore Excursion Tour for Two Days (August 31-September 1, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 31/16

My husband and I have been on numerous cruises and have booked excursions on each cruise. Alexander is without a doubt the best Tour Guide we have ever had. His planning of our Tours on August 31, 2016 & September 1, 2016 made our days in St. Petersburg an absolutely unforgettable visit.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words, Kathy! It was really a great pleasure for me to show you around our beautiful city. You are one of my best customers!

Shauna Afshani

United States
Rating

Tour: #6735, St Petersburg: Private Tour of Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace (August 5, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 5/16

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for high rating of my tour, Shauna!

Shauna Afshani

United States
Rating

Tour: #6965, St Petersburg: Peterhof - A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars from Peter I till Nicholas II (August 4, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 4/16

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for high rating of my tour, Shauna!

Shauna Afshani

United States
Rating

Tour: Saint Petersburg See it All in One Day! Tour (August 3, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Aug 3/16

Alex was a great tour guide for St Petersburg. He is extremely knowledgeable about the history of the city, the art, and the architecture. He made our visit around the city a great and unique experience. He is very friendly, and took us to some great places for dining and shopping as well. Alex is very easy to work with and he was very accommodating with making sure that our group did everything we wanted to do. I highly recommend Alex for your tour around St Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for high rating of my tour, Shauna! I was happy to show you and your family around our beautiful city for 3 days!

Heather Sievers

United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 9/16

We spent an amazing day seeing St. Petersburg with Alexander. From the beginning he was very helpful in planning this trip. Also taking care of the Visas we needed to leave our cruise ship. We learned so much in this one day. Alex was very knowledgeable at every stop we made. We were even able to visit a local grocery store & he helped us pick out some favorite snacks, candy & vodka! I highly recommend a day with Alexander if you are visiting St. Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Heather! We had a great day! Visiting local grocery store was fun and something special for me too! :)))

Raymond Ericksen

United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide Tour (July 6, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 6/16

Alexander allowed me to enjoy St. Petersburg like a local. He was flexible and knowledgeable as we walked around St. Petersburg and went through the Russian Museum. The best way to enjoy St. Petersburg is by taking public transportation, which is what I did with Alexander.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ray! I was happy to show you around St Petersburg in a rainy day. :)

Donald Bell

Canada
Rating

Tour: #59465, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Tour Guide and Driver (25 June, 2016), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 25/16

Alexander took us on a simply wonderful tour of Saint Petersburg. We wanted to see several specific sites, and he organized the day around our requests. He is a truly devoted guide. with a wealth of knowledge which he shares with ease. his expertise allowed us to fully appreciate the sites we visited. If you are ever in Saint Petersburg, use Alexander as a guide. You will be in excellent hands.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Don! I really enjoyed to show you around our wonderful city and visit St Alexander Nevsky Monastery, the Russian Museum, etc. Thank you very much for everything!

Robert Maslin

United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide Tour (June 9, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 9/16

Great walking tour. Alex is an excellent tour guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Robert! We had a great time!

Jason Fasbinder

United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 2/16

Alex provided a great tour of St. Petersburg. He was punctual, polite, knowledgeable, flexible and patient with my wife and I and our 4 year old son. I would recommend his tour to anyone.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I was happy to be your tour guide and show you around our beautiful city.

Bruce Hale

Australia
Rating

Tour: #6735, St Petersburg: Private Tour of Pushkin (Tsar's Village) and Catherine Palace (May 15, 2016), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 15/16

Excellent. A most knowledgeable and informative guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Bruce and Vicki! Have a great time in St Petersburg!

Kenneth Gaines

United States
Rating

Tour: A Winter Day in St. Petersburg Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Mar 19/16

Incredibly knowledgeable--glad we took the tour

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Kenneth and Pam! Have a great time in St Petersburg!

Timothy Chute

Qatar
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 22/15

Alexander is a fantastic tour guide. His English is excellent! He knows Russian history, he knows the best sights to see in Saint Petersburg, and he knows the best ways to get around the city making the journey as exciting as the destination. My two teenage sons felt that Alexander's pace was great and he took amazing photos of my family at the various places we visited. I highly recommend Alexander as a tour guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Timothy! I was very happy to show you and your family around Saint Petersburg and Peterhof.

Jennifer Bolton

United States
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 5/15

Alexander was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the city and was able to show me very much in the short time I had in St. Petersburg. I will definitely book another tour with him if I'm lucky enough to return.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Jennifer! I will be happy to be your tour guide again and show you around our beautiful city and its Imperial suburbs!

Jill McCleary

Cypress, TX, United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 1/15

Excellent guide, very knowledgeable and accommodating. We were with him for 2 days and enjoyed all the important sights.

Christine Sutcliffe

United States
Rating

Tour: Two Days in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver (August 30 - 31, 2015), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Aug 30/15

What a wonderful tour! Alexander was precisely on time to pick us up at the ship. We had no difficulty recognizing him when he arrived. First impression was good; same with the car and driver. Our tour was exactly as we had requested. We saw everything we had requested; he even managed to fit in a short trip to a Lemonosov store so I could add to my porcelain collection. The vehicle used was lovely -- spacious, comfortable, and sparkling clean. The driver was careful. Couldn't have been better.

Sriram Padmanabhan

United Arab Emirates
Rating

Tour: #6965, Peterhof: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars from Peter I till Nicholas II, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 6/15

We took three tours with Alexander (Saint Petersburg walking tour, tour to Pieterhof, and tour of Catherine's Palace). Alex met us on time at the hotel on each occasion. He had arranged tickets for the sites ahead of time and it avoided us having to queue up to buy tickets; of course this came at a premium, which we paid for. Alex was very patient and answered our questions about various exhibits. We travelled on the metro in Saint Petersburg and Alex explained interesting facts about some of the stations

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Sriram! I enjoyed all three days to spend with you and your family!

Sriram Padmanabhan

United Arab Emirates
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Aug 5/15

We took three tours with Alexander (Saint Petersburg walking tour, tour to Pieterhof, and tour of Catherine's Palace). Alex met us on time at the hotel on each occasion. He had arranged tickets for the sites ahead of time and it avoided us having to queue up to buy tickets; of course this came at a premium, which we paid for. Alex was very patient and answered our questions about various exhibits. We travelled on the metro in Saint Petersburg and Alex explained interesting facts about some of the stations

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Sriram! I enoyed all three days to spend with you and your family!

Sriram Padmanabhan

United Arab Emirates
Rating

Tour: Half-Day Walking Tour with Your Private Local Guide, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Aug 4/15

We took three tours with Alexander (Saint Petersburg walking tour, tour to Pieterhof, and tour of Catherine's Palace). Alex met us on time at the hotel on each occasion. He had arranged tickets for the sites ahead of time and it avoided us having to queue up to buy tickets; of course this came at a premium, which we paid for. Alex was very patient and answered our questions about various exhibits. We travelled on the metro in Saint Petersburg and Alex explained interesting facts about some of the stations

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Sriram! I enjoyed all three days to spend with you and your family!

Richard Wan

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide (July 31-August 1, 2015), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 31/15

Alex was very knowledgeable and professional.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Richard! I did my best to make your time enjoyable and memorable.

Karen Scott S.

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide (21-22 July, 2015), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 21/15

Alexander is a fantastic guide. He made sure we were well taken care of while we were in St. Petersburg. His driver was also excellent. Both were very courteous and helpful with all our questions. I definitely recommend Alexander as your tour guide when you visit St. Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words, Karen! It was a great pleasure to spend two days with you and your family!

Frank Thompson

Canada
Rating

Tour: #6537, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 2/15

Alexander tour guide and driver Alexander conducted a personal tour for my wife and I in St. Petersburg. We would never have seen the city in such an enjoyable and informative way in a large group tour "following the flag" and visiting shops. For me an important part of the experience was the ability to ask questions about just about anything. Alexander was the one to raise the leadership question by asking what we thought of Prime Minister Harper in Canada. Humour is a good thing.Frank

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Frank! I'm really glad we had a great opportunity to see our beautiful city and talk about many interesting issues, including politics. I wish we had more time!

Hassan Ramadan

Lebanon
Rating

Tour: #26443, Three Days with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg (18-20 June, 2015), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 18/15

We spent an excellent, comprehensive and in-depth three-day tour with Alexander. He was always on time, courteous and diligent, explaining the essential and pointing out the hidden. His company, knowledge, availability and flexibility made all the difference. Highly recommended.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Hassan! I had a great time with you and your friends! Would be happy to see you again!

Susan Chan

United States
Rating

Tour: Half-Day Walking Tour with Your Private Local Guide, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Jun 17/15

Very informative and professional. Knowledgable and pleasant.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Susan!

Valerie Kahoe

United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide (16 June, 2015), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 16/15

We would highly recommend Alexander and his tour of St. Petersburg. He has much knowledge about his country and all of the places we visited. We had 5 teenagers with us and they all enjoyed the tour also.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Valerie! I enjoyed to spend the time with your family too!

Eleanor Fiumara

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #7811, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide (11 June, 2015), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 11/15

Alexander had covered an itinerary chosen by me. The only things that stopped it from being 5 stars were that he hadn't pre-booked a venue for lunch which led to a delay (he did manage to organise lunch while we were on the canal/river cruise which was lovely) that didn't allow us souvenir-shopping time, which we had to do at the cruise terminal. The 8-seater vehicle and driver were great. Quite an expensive day trip.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks for your response Eleanor! We had a really great day and we could see as much as possible for such a short period of time. I wish you had one extra hour so that you could do souvenir shopping.

Paul Toohey

United States
Rating

Tour: Siege of Leningrad Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Jun 7/15

Alexander is pleasant,informative. The tour itself is very interesting. I found the blockade museum particularly interesting. I recommend this tour as something maybe a little off the typical tourist route. Thanks Alexander!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Paul! Enjoy your time in St Petersburg!

Robert Wood

United States
Rating

Tour: #59465, One Day in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver, Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 2/15

Alexander was absolutely exceptional! We had a wonderful experience with him during our tour of St. Petersburg. He is very knowledgeable and a nice guy, too. At the end of the tour, we invited him and his wife to visit us in the U.S. -- it was that kind of experience. I was particularly interested in Soviet-era landmarks and buildings, and Alexander took the time to structure a tour specifically to address my interests. I really, really appreciated that. Such a good guy!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Robert! It is great to hear that you enjoyed my tour which I customized specially for you and Jane. You are always welcomed to Leningrad again. There is still so much to see and explore here. I wish I had more customers who are interested in Soviet era which is a big (and not bad!) part of my own life. Hopefully to visit you and Jane in Arkansas in my next trip to the USA!

Robert Dickens

Russia
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 13/15

An excellent knowledgeable guide. His english was excellent, his understanding of our requirements was perceptive, and the pleasure he took in guiding us around his city was infectious. It was astonishing how knowledgeable he was about Russian history, literature and the contents of the Russian Museum. Many thanks Alexander.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Robert and Elizabeth! It was a great pleasure to show you around and spend two days with you!

Robert Dickens

Russia
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 12/15

Our second tour day with Alexander. It was a delight.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Robert!

Virginia Fleischman

United States
Rating

Tour: Siege of Leningrad Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: May 3/15

Very moving look at all that St Petersburg endured during WWII.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your reponse and being my good customers.

Virginia Fleischman

United States
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: May 1/15

Great visit to a wonderful site. I especially appreciated the opportunity to linger a bit in the Amber Room. My husband was very happy to have an excellent look at St Petersburg transit system. I was having some knee issues and Alexander was very mindful of them.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Virginia! Thank you very much for your response and being my good customers.

Anthony Terrana

United States
Rating

Tour: #59465, One Day in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver (23 October, 2014), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Oct 23/14

Alexander did an excellent job. We were on a river cruise, so our schedule changed frequently. He was very adaptable, picked us up at the ship and adjusted his tour based on what we had seen with the cruise tour. He arranged for us to see the Fabrege Museum at the last minute, which was a highlight of our visit. I would highly recommend him and use him again

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very Anthony! I will be happy to see you again in St Petersburg!

Eduardo Canovas

United States
Rating

Tour: Siege of Leningrad Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Oct 6/14

Alex is very knowledgable and interested in sharing info on the Siege as his family was involved personally. We had a great time in the tour and we got to travel in SP metro and buses. Thanks again

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Eduardo! It was my pleasure to share info about this tragic page in the history of our city.

Shirley Redpath

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Sep 26/14

Alexander understood perfectly our requirement -- we wanted to have a guide for the first of our six days in St Petersburg in order to get a feel for the place and learn how we could get around on our own later in the week. His suggestion of Tsarskoe Selo for our excursion was spot on, as it is one of the more complicated to get to without a guide. His knowledge of the history of the city is superb and he is very professional in his approach to providing guide services. Would highly recommend him.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Shirley! It was great to spend this day with you and Tim and show you around Tsarskoe Selo and the city.

Pamela Monger

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, St. Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 25/14

Alexander really knew his history. Thanks for the special trip to the subway, it was interesting.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Pamela! I was happy to share with you about rich and exciting history of this great city. Subway trip experience was great too!

Marc F.

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #59465, One Day in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver (14 August, 2014), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 14/14

Alexander was an excellent tour guide. We were on a cruise which had a stop in St Peteresburg. We wanted to design a one-day tour which would appeal to us and our 3 teenage children. Alexander helped us to set up a day which covered everything we wanted to see as well as an evening at a Russian show. We also had lunch at a great Russian restaurant we really enjoyed. Alexander made it all easy. I would definitely recommend him as a guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Marc! And Museum of Soviet Arcade Machines was great too!

Yana Mednik

United States
Rating

Tour: #6735, Private Tour of Pushkin (Tsar's Village) and Catherine Palace, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 11/14

This is our second tour with Alexander and it didn't dissapoint. Alexander is knowledgable and we enjoyed our day

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Yana! Will be happy to see you and Rachel again! :)))

Ahmed Roushdy

Egypt
Rating

Tour: #6965, Peterhof: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars from Peter I till Nicholas II, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 5/14

The tour was more than fantastic , and the tour guide Alexander was so polite , helpful , has a great knowledge and experience , we really liked every moment of this tour , thanks a lot

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ahmed! I was really happy to spend this great day with you in Peterhof!!!

Michael Caristo

Australia
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 22/14

Alex was on time, very thorough and knowledgeable. We asked lots of history questions throughout our 2 days and Alex answered almost all. Alex would tell us lots of interesting facts about what we were seeing without prompt and knew where to take the best photos.He also helped plan an itinerary for our free day including route map, attractions, excellent museum and Soviet cuisine recommendations. We had a great time and would recommend Alex especially if you are a history buff.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Julia and Edmund! It was my pleasure to spend 2 days with history buffs!

Michael Caristo

Australia
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in St. Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 20/14

Alex was on time, very thorough and knowledgeable. We asked lots of history questions throughout our 2 days and Alex answered almost all. Alex would tell us lots of interesting facts about what we were seeing without prompt and knew where to take the best photos.He also helped plan an itinerary for our free day including route map, attractions, excellent museum and Soviet cuisine recommendations. We had a great time and would recommend Alex especially if you are a history buff.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Julia and Edmund! It was my pleasure to spend 2 days with history buffs!

Craig Combs

United States
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Jul 17/14

Alexander did a great job. We enjoyed his insights and help.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Craig! I enjoyed to spend these two days with you too!

Craig Combs

United States
Rating

Tour: #6965, Peterhof: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars from Peter I till Nicholas II, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 16/14

We appreciate Alexander sharing the history of his country and the food and sights he introduced us to.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Craig! I enjoyed to spend these two days with you too!

Paul Carter

United States
Rating

Tour: #6735, Private Tour of Pushkin (Tsar's Village) and Catherine Palace, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 11/14

Great service and excellent value. Genuinely kind and accommodating of our needs. We strongly recommend Alexander.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Paul! We had a great day and ... great weather!

Nancy Shelmon

United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Private Shore Excursion, 10 July, 2014, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 10/14

Alexander made our visit to St. Petersburg so special and we have wonderful memories.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Nancy! Hope to see you and Clarence again in St Pete or San Diego! :)))

Nancy Shelmon

United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, Saint Petersburg Private Shore Excursion, 8-9 July, 2014, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 8/14

Exceptional knowledge and very organized. Alexander is now a friend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Nancy! Hope to see you and Clarence again in St Pete or San Diego! :)))

Sophia Su

United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, St. Petersburg Private Shore Excursion (1 July, 2014), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 1/14

He is professional and knowledgeable. We enjoyed his one-day tour, especially the hydrofoil ride.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Sophia! It is great to hear that you enjoyed St Petersburg and my tour.

Stuart Walker

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Imperial Peterhof and the Hermitage in One Day! Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Jun 20/14

This was an extremely informative tour given in a fiendly way by Alexander. We had asked to do Peterhof and the Hermitage in one day - quite a tall order. If we had been going round ourselves, we would have spent too much time in some places and not enough in others - possible missing many things of interest altogether. Alexander managed to guide us round taking in all the important things. Well done !

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Stuart! We had a great day and could see two major attractions in one day.

Ann Person

United States
Rating

Tour: Three Days in St. Petersburg with Your Tour Guide and Driver (17-19 June, 2014), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Jun 17/14

Alexander was very knowledge. We learned a lot and enjoyed our tour. We will definitely recommend him to friends.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ann! Enjoy your cruise!

Andy Royce

98115, WA, United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Shore Excursion with Private Local Guide (15 May, 2014), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 15/14

We were a group of 13 on a private tour of the major attractions in St Petersburg... we were with Alex for two days. Overall we were very satisfied with what Alex and his level of knowledge of the area and in particular of the major attractions. He has a very good grasp of the history of the area and astonished us with his knowledge of most if not all of the major works of art in the cathedrals and the Hermitage

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your response Andy. It was my pleasure to share my knowledge about St Petersburg and its rich history with you and your group.

Andy Royce

98115, WA, United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Shore Excursion with Private Local Guide (14 May, 2014), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 14/14

We were a group of 13 on a private tour of the major attractions in St Petersburg. Overall we were very satisfied with what Alex and his level of knowledge of the area and in particular of the major attractions. He has a very good grasp of the history of the area and astonished us with his knowledge of most if not all of the major works of art in the cathedrals and the Hermitage

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your response Andy. It was my pleasure to share my knowledge about St Petersburg and its rich history with you and your family.

Paul Collins

Australia
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: May 2/14

The tour was informative but at a pace we could easily maintain. Alex made sure everything went to plan and it was a great day. Informative and great sightseeing

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Paul! I was happy to spend this day with you and show you this beautiful palace and garden.

John R.

St. Simons Island, GA, United States
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: May 1/14

Alexander was an excellent guide for the beautiful city of St. Petersburg! He was punctual, friendly and very considerate during our three days with him. He did a wonderful job of presenting the history of St. Petersburg, and he answered all the questions we had about both art and history. Our tours were well organized and very interesting. I would not hesitate to recommend Alexander to my friends.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much John! I was very happy to spend three days with you and show you around this beautiful city.

Emily P.

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Apr 14/14

Booking two tours with Alexander was the best thing we could have done. He enhanced our historical perspective and made navigating very simple. We usually do everything on our own but this time we were so happy to have guidance. He is EXTREMELY knowledgeable and his pride in the city and willingness to share his knowledge was enriching.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks a lot for being my very good customers, Emily! I'm always happy to share my knowledge about this great city.

Emily P.

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Apr 12/14

Alexander was wonderful. We booked him for a one day private tour of St Petersburg. Right from the get-go, he was prompt, courteous and attentive. He asked us what we wanted, and was able to fulfil our wishes for the day. He was judicious with all his fun facts, history and local knowledge. I would wholeheartedly recommend him. SMP

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words, Emily! By the way, I went to the Faberge Museum the next day and it was sold out. You were really lucky! :)

Paul Green

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6803, Saint Petersburg Private Tour (7 - 9 April, 2014), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Apr 7/14

We spent a delightful and informative 3 days with Alexander. He is prompt and polite and speaks excellent English. He had a vast knowledge of all the various sights we visited and their historical background. He gave us generous amounts outside our allotted time to ensure all the sights we had asked to visit were covered in a meaningful way. We would highly recommend him to other visitors to St Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words Paul and Christine!

Sarah Taimur

United States
Rating

Tour: #6972, Dostoyevsky Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Nov 8/13

Alex is extremely knowledgable about the city and the history of St Petersburg and Russian literature. He was a wonderful guide! My tour was extremely interesting. I learned so much about the life and work of Dostoyevsky in a few hours, way more than I would have through hours of reading and research. Seeing places that Dostoyevsky talks about in person provides a completely different perspective into his stories all together. Priceless experience in every way possible! Highly recommended!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your interest in Russian history, literature and our life, Sarah! I was really happy to show you around 'the most abstract and intentional city in the world'.

Peter S.

Belgium
Rating

Tour: Saint Petersburg See it All in One Day! Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Oct 31/13

Alexander had everything perfectly arranged for our large group of 13, driving us around by a private minibus. The tour was exactly as was promised, we had a good impression of what St Petersburg has to offer. Alexander knows the best places to make beautiful photographs of the city!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Peter! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour.

Laurence Waring

Canada
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg (28-29 September, 2013), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 28/13

Alexander was a great tour guide and we really enjoyed our two days with him. Came away with a great feel for the city and appreciated his knowledge of both the history and treasures of Saint Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Laurence! It is great to hear you enjoyed your time in Saint Petersburg. It was a pleasure to show you around our beautiful city for two days.

Wim Gohres

Netherlands
Rating

Tour: Saint Petersburg Full-Day Sightseeing Tour (19 September, 2013), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Sep 19/13

Alexander guided our small party today for a walking tour which he customized for us. We found Alexander to be a very knowledgeable guide who takes very good care of the group. He gives a lot of relevant information and could answer all our questions on history and architecture. He is very relaxed. Picked a excellent local restaurant with good food and service for a very fair price. His English is excellent and his communication when setting up the trip is clear and fast. Heartfelt recommendation

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: What a great day I had today with Wim and her family! Thank you very much for your good words and recommendations. And I'm eager to go to Amsterdam again! :)

Donna Simmonds

NORTH FREMANTLE, WA, Australia
Rating

Tour: #6537, Saint Petersburg Private Tour (15-17 September, 2013), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 15/13

It was a pleasure to have Alex as our guide. His knowledge of St Petersburg's history and culture was incredible. We had an excellent 3 days being shown the sights of St Petersburg with Alex. We would recommend his services to any traveler wanting to see St Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Donna! And it was a pleasure for me to be your guide for 3 days. I will be happy to show our beautiful city for your friends!

Geraldine Maloof

United States
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Sep 5/13

Alexander is excellent; prompt, personable and extremely knowledgable. He has my highest recommendation.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your recommendation, Gerrie. I was glad we could see Catherine Palace and Amber Room on the day when G20 Summit opened in St Petersburg.

Will Miller

United States
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Sep 1/13

We were extremely disappointed with our day with Alex. We had emailed extensively explaining exactly what we wanted and yet he delivered the 'default' tour. What he did was very good and informative but it was nothing like we had asked for.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Actually I liked this day with Mr. Miller's family. We took a boat ride in the morning and had a very good walking tour in the afternoon. We ate Russian food in a local restaurant for lunch and they enjoy it. We came back by subway and I helped them to buy some food and drinks in a local grocery... It was a very good day indeed! I did my best to guide Mr. Miller's family of 6 people and they all were happy except him. I'm sorry to hear that Mr. Miller was the only one who he didn't get what he wanted.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: We've spoken to Alex and Mr. Miller about this tour as Mr. Miller's review is in sharp contrast to the other reviews. Mr. Miller was expecting to see 'local' St Petersburg but only saw the tourist sites.

Lucille S.

Northbrook, IL, United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Private Shore Tour, 21 August, 2013, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 21/13

Day 1 - Alexander the guide, with Alexander, the driver was great. He liked us as much as we liked him. We saw wonderful summer palaces with unbelievable fountains. We saw churches, parks, and had a great snack that ended the day before taking the hydrofoil ride back.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much! It was my pleasure to spend two days with you and show you around our beautiful city and its Imperial suburbs.

Lucille S.

Northbrook, IL, United States
Rating

Tour: #6537, Saint Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 19/13

Day 2 - Alexander also talked about himself. He got better day! We saw the Peter & Paul fortress, had a city tour, walking too, but we drove from location to location. Our favorite is the Church of the Spilled Blood. He told great hysterical stories. We had dinner with him at a Russian stroganoff place and then went to the Folk show. Great day!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: I was glad that weather improved and we had another great day.

Jill Bowler

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide (13 August, 2013), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Aug 13/13

Alexander was well informed, articulate, courteous and considerate. It was a great introduction to St Petersburg, a unanimous vote of 5 stars from the whole family.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Jill! Warm greetings to your family from Alexander. Looking forward to my trip to the UK!

Cynthia Hurtt

Hixson, TN, United States
Rating

Tour: #6884, St. Petersburg with Your Private Local Guide (31 July - 1 August, 2013), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 31/13

We spent two days with Alex and it was a great two days. He gave us the local tour we wanted. We wanted to see off the beaten path tour and places. Alex has a great command of the City, History and Culture of Russia. He was a great guide for us and JC and I thank him for a beautiful trip in his city. Thank You again, JC and Cyndi

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much JC and Cyndi! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time in St Petersburg. With this customized tour we really could see and experience many off the beaten places in this beautiful city.

Julie L.

Phoenix, AZ, United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Private Shore Excursion, 30 July, 2013, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 30/13

My wife handled all details of a wonderful visit to St. Petersburg. Upon meeting Alexander, I discovered she had found an expert who was so knowledgeable, courteous, and thorough in his explanation of both culture and Russian history. We allowed him to set the agenda on not only must-see tourist sites, but also the St. Petersburg that is emerging in the 21st century. He also took great pics of us along the way. I recommend him without reservation to anyone who wants to experience the true St. Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Jerry! I was really glad to share with my life experience and tell about modern life in Russia. And you had a good photographer with you along the way. :)

Julie L.

Phoenix, AZ, United States
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Private Shore Excursion, 28 July, 2013, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 28/13

As a travel agent I've worked with guides all over the world. Alexander S is one of the best. Planning was easy thru his prompt emails. We spent 2 full days with him, on a custom tour that featured the highlights of St. Petersburg. He made our visit the trip of a lifetime, taking us to a local café for an authentic Russian dining experience, and sharing his knowledge of the Hermitage, Catherine's Palace, The Peterhof & many other treasured sites and stops in this incredible city. Thank you Alexander!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your great feedback Julie! I did my best to make your visit to St Petersburg the trip of a lifetime. And I'm here to guide this beautiful city for your friends and customers! Please say hello to Jerry, Karen and Jon! -- Alexander

Joe Chow

Belgium
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg (23 July, 2013), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 23/13

Alexander was very punctual and attentive. His English is fluent and the tours with him were enjoyable, extra information plentiful. A "down to earth" guide....showing us the local fast food for lunch, keeping us company during the beginning of our 2nd day dinner at the Vodka Museum. We will surely recommend him to friends.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Joe! It was a pleasure to guide you and your good friends for two days. A special thank you for a great dinner at the Vodka Museum restaurant! Belgian chocolate is the best! :)

Joe Chow

Belgium
Rating

Tour: #6803, One Day with Your Private Guide in Saint Petersburg (22 July, 2013), Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 22/13

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for high rating of the tour. I will be happy to see you and your friends in St Petersburg again!

Merryn Price

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #26443, Two Days with Your Private Guide (8 - 9 July, 2013), Sankt-Peterburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jul 8/13

We spent three days with Alexander in SP. Communication with him was excellent from start to finish and our planning was in place before we arrived. Alex organised all the entrance tickets for us and often managed to get us to the front of the queues in quick time. On our drive out to Peterhof he recounted the story of the Imperial Family brilliantly. Alex listened carefully to the things we wanted to do and made every effort to ensure our time in SP was fabulous. Highly recommend Alex as a guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Merryn! It was my pleasure to show you around our beautiful city for three great days!

Geoffrey French

Mississauga, ONT, Canada
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Private Tour, 21 June, 2013, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 21/13

Alexander is a pleasant, friendly, courteous and well informed young man. He organized an excellent tour of St. Petersburg and wits incredible sites. I strongly recommend his services. Well done Alexander!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, Geoffrey and Valerie! It is great to hear that I made your time in St. Petersburg enjoyable and memorable.

Geoffrey French

Mississauga, ONT, Canada
Rating

Tour: #7811, Saint Petersburg Shore Excursion with Your Private Local Guide, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia    view tour
Date: Jun 20/13

This was our second Visa free shore excursion with Alexander and once again he exceeded our expectations. I gladly recommend his services to anyone interested in an in-depth tour of St. Petersburg. Thanks Alexander.

Ben Bernatchez

Canada
Rating

Tour: Imperial Saint Petersburg and the Hermitage in One Day! Tour, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Jun 8/13

Alexander was an exceptional tour guide. The schedule was well planned and timed to ensure I would get to see as much as possible in the day that was available. He was exceptionally knowledgeable about all the sites we visited and was able to provide me all sorts of interesting information about the beautiful city we were in. Thanks for a great day in Saint Petersburg Alexander!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ben! Looking forward to seeing you again and showing you around the suburban attractions! - Alexander

Mark Hornor

United States
Rating

Tour: Tsarskoe Selo/Catherine Palace: A Summer Residence of the Russian Tsars, Saint Petersburg, Sankt-Peterburg, Russia
Date: Mar 15/13

Made last minute call for English-speaking guided tour of Catherine's Palace. Alexander contacted me within the hour to set meeting time for next morning. His English was stellar, his knowledge extensive and he was extremely personable. I especially appreciated his relaxed demeanor - he wasn't watching the clock but insisted I see as much as possible. I have already recommended him to my son when he visits St. Petersburg.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your feedback, Mark. I will be always happy to show you and your family around St Petersburg again and again! Hopefully to see you in the USA in one of my future trips.