Traveler Reviews of Private Tours in Bandar-Seri-Begawan-Brunei by Tour Guide Irene C. (Guide #15368)


Michael D.

United States
Rating

Tour: #204115, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Full Day (up to 20 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Feb 25/20

Ernst Heilinger

Austria
Rating

Tour: #204119, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Shore Excursion (up to 4 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Feb 6/20

Very good guide. Much knowledge. Very good English. I really can recommend her.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Ernst, it was a pleasure to show you and your wife around and meet my first ever guests from Austria! I hope the remainder of your cruise is a wonderful time too.

Lara Finlayson

Australia
Rating

Tour: #204119, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Shore Excursion (up to 4 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Jan 15/20

We had a terrific day with Irene. She tailored the itinerary to our needs as they changed throughout the day, and really ensured that we got the most out of it. We especially appreciated the visit to the water village and the most delicious banana fritters ever!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: My pleasure Lara, lovely to meet you and your family and have a great day out together. Thank you so much.

David Cahill

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Bandar Seri Begawan City Tour (Half Day), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
Date: Jan 14/20

Irene met me at my hotel and customised the tour to meet my needs. We went on a tour along the river in a beautiful water taxi (skiff). We passed Kampong Ayer on the north bank and into mangroves where we saw crocodiles ( so many crocodiles), long tailed macaques, and a troop of proboscis monkeys. It really was wonderful. We had tea at a fisherman's family home in Kampong Ayer, visited Jame'Asr Hassanil Bolkiah Mosque. At my request visited the Jerudong area and lunch. Thank you Irene, lasting memories!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for such lovely comments David, it was a wonderful day together and I also have lasting memories of a really fun day out with you! Thanks so much.

Chelsea Kauffman

United States
Rating

Tour: #201822, Bandar City, River, Wildlife & Food - Afternoon & Night Market (up to 10 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Jan 1/20

Irene was a wonderful guide! She knows so much about the country and is so personable! You really get to experience a lot of Brunei in a short period of time. She allows all the time you need to spend at all the sights and has lots of information to share about each sight. If you're trying to decide which tour to choose, I'd highly recommend this one!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks so much for a fun time and so lovely to meet you!

Anders Torstensson

Sweden
Rating

Tour: #223066, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Half Day (up to 20 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Dec 26/19

David Gruber

Canada
Rating

Tour: #392476, Brunei History and City Tour - bespoke tour for David Gruber on Saturday 26th October 2019, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Oct 26/19

Booked with Irene for my first toursbylocals trip and was very pleasantly surprised. Tour was very well coordinated and very efficient getting around Brunei to see all the sights, but didn't feel rushed at all. Top notch service and she really went the extra mile. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Brunei.

Thomas Na

Germany
Rating

Tour: #388496, Indigenous Culture and Food - Full Day (up to 10 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Sep 22/19

I had an excellent day with Irene! She accommodated my last minute booking and build up a fun schedule. Definitely worth it!!!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Yannique, it was a pleasure and fun to show you around.

Somnath Datta

United States
Rating

Tour: #388496, Bandar City, River & Wildlife & Indigenous Lunch Bespoke Tour for Somnath Datta on Friday 23rd August 2019, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Aug 22/19

She is energetic and knowledgeable. I really enjoyed my tour with her.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Somnath, it was a pleasure to host you! Hope all is well in Florida.

Ahmad Ali

United Arab Emirates
Rating

Tour: #388496, Bandar City, River & Wildlife & Indigenous Culture - Bespoke Tour for Ahmad Ali & Family on Sunday 18th August 2019, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Aug 18/19

Irene was a superb guide. She was entertaining (we even miggled around with her son), explaining and answering all our questions regarding Brunei. She even bought us to experience the local community project ( this was our lunch in a garden) and a local house ( we were served with local kueh and drink after touring Kampung Ayer village) that she involved to. Our tour was very informative, so flexible and accommodating to our needs. All in all, a 5 star for her times with us and our journey to Brunei.

Priscila B.

Philippines
Rating

Tour: #203143, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Shore Excursion (5 to 20 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Aug 12/19

Highly recommended! Irene is very helpful, flexible and knowledgeable. For Brunei first-timers like our group, we truly enjoyed our tour with her. She answered our queries promptly, making us more confident even prior to the actual date. Irene took good care of us. As an added bonus, we even got to meet her adorable family and had a good time bonding with them. Thank you ToursbyLocals and Irene. May your tribe increase! God bless

Loanne Kliphuis

Netherlands
Rating

Tour: #201822, Bandar City, River, Wildlife & Food - Afternoon & Night Market (up to 10 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Jul 21/19

We had a great tour day with Irene. She showed us all the highlights and told a lot about Brunei. Especially liked the boat tour, spotting the monkeys and visiting a water village house.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for our lovely day together, it was a pleasure to show you and Rick around. Hope your trip to Sandakan is great too!

Eric Heintz

United States
Rating

Tour: #201822, Bandar City, River, Wildlife & Food - Afternoon & Night Market (up to 10 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: May 25/19

Irene was fantastic! Great day and lovely experience in Bandar.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Many thanks Eric, it was a real pleasure to show you and Carolina around.

Camelia Gavrila

Netherlands
Rating

Tour: #388496, Indigenous Culture and Food - Full Day (up to 10 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Apr 24/19

Irene helped me to discover Brunei outside the capital city and thank you for the wonderful day spent together. I travel along the river and have admired the mangroves and the houses on water. The Malay Technology museum was very useful for my research. Thank you to Eyon who prepared an excellent lunch at the Eco ponies garden, organised by Irene. I hope we will stay in touch and come back to discover more of the country!

Juan Arenado

Ciudad de Mexico, CIUDAD DE MEXICO, Mexico
Rating

Tour: #204115, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Full Day (up to 10 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Apr 13/19

Everything was great with Irene. Very recommended!!

Juan Arenado

Ciudad de Mexico, CIUDAD DE MEXICO, Mexico
Rating

Tour: #388496, Indigenous Culture and Food - Full Day (up to 10 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Apr 12/19

Ann-Charlotte Larsson

Sweden
Rating

Tour: #204119, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Shore Excursion (up to 4 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Apr 6/19

Paul Johnson

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #388496, Bespoke tour for Paul Johnson & Family to Seria & Kuala Belait - Paul Johnson - 25th March 2019, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Mar 25/19

Paul Johnson

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #201822, Bandar City, River, Wildlife & Food - Afternoon & Night Market - Paul Johnson - 24th March 2019, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Mar 24/19

Irene was exactly as she says, friendly, outgoing, knowledgeable and very easy to get on with. The afternoon tour on the first day was all that we wanted and imagined, great. The second day, going south to Seria and Kuala Belait, was fantastic, bringing back a lot of memories and managing to find the houses I lived in with my parents. The whole trip was value for money. She is definitely someone I would recommend.

Kevin Olson

United States
Rating

Tour: #223066, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Half Day (up to 10 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Mar 2/19

Irene was pleasant, spoke excellent English, and very knowledgeable. She is a native of Brunei, and gave us interesting perspective on life in this small bot prosperous, happy country. We recommend Irene highly as an excellent guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Kevin.Glad that you guys enjoyed it.

Cornelia Sara Koziczynska

Sweden
Rating

Tour: #201822, Bandar City, River, Wildlife & Food - Afternoon & Night Market (up to 10 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Feb 23/19

I had such a great time with Irene in Brunei! As a solo woman traveling alone I was a bit concerned at first but Irene made me feel super safe and comfortable the whole time. The whole day was tailored to me and my wishes so I could really get the most of my stay. Irene also went above and beyond for me and it really felt like I was exploring the real Brunei with an old friend instead of going on a planned tour. I had such a great time that I even changed my flight to stay an extra day :)

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: It was lovely to spend days with you Cornelia!

Arndt Krauspenhaar

Germany
Rating

Tour: #204119, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Shore Excursion (up to 4 Guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Feb 22/19

Irene is a very very nice person, taking care about her guests and is absolutely open for individual requests regarding tour content and pace. Absolutely recommended as guide ! Thanks again for the fantastic tour :-)

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Arndt, thank you so much for your kind feedback, it was a pleasure to spend time with you and your family. I hope the rest of your cruise was fantastic too.

Jenny Lau

Malaysia
Rating

Tour: #529491, Bandar highlights and Foodie Tour for Jenny Lau - 22nd Jan 2019, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Jan 22/19

Below is my comment: Today, Irene just became my new friend. She’s so friendly and easy going.... she goes an extra mile to make my day extra special! Great company and great company! Will definitely recommend her to all my friends who wish to visit Brunei! ������

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Aunty Jenny , glad you enjoyed your short transit here x

Jeanette Wheatley

United States
Rating

Tour: #388496, Indigenous Culture and Food & Custom Tour for Jeanette Wheatley (Friday 2nd Nov 2018), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Nov 2/18

Highly recommend using Irene for *all* of your tours! I did one tour with Irene and another tour with a highly positive reviewed company and Irene's was so much better! Wish I had booked her for both tours! Her local knowledge and contacts were obviously beneficial in the quality of tour she provided!

Nuno Costa

Portugal
Rating

Tour: #388496, Indigenous Culture and Food - Full Day (up to 4 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Oct 28/18

Amazing day spent all over Brunei with a customized tour according to my needs and visiting great places, meeting nice people and enjoying tasteful food. Irene is a great guide speaking very well english, making the day very enjoyable, thank you for that!

Benjamin Greenslade

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Brunei City Tour in 7 hours, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
Date: Oct 22/18

A really good tour. It was a really good way to see all the hidden jems of the city. Irene was great and after the tour offered any help or information. Highly recommended

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Ben! Glad you enjoyed the tour .

Rand Morimoto

United States
Rating

Tour: #204115, Bandar City, River & Wildlife - Full Day (up to 4 guests), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Oct 7/18

Made a last minute visit to Brunei and wanted to get the most out of the day trip... Found Irene off the Internet and she responded promptly, we booked the tour, she met me at the airport, had an amazing experience getting to know the people, food, and lifestyles of the country! Fun, knowledgeable, and great communciator, thank you!!!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day :D

Frederick Tausch

United States
Rating

Tour: #388496, Bandar City, River, Wildlife, Museums and Indigenous Culture - Frederick Tausch (3rd to 5th Oct 2018), Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Oct 3/18

Irene was is a very knowledgeable guide and lovely person. I enjoyed my time very much and would highly recommend her. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very attentive to my needs.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for taking your time to drop me a rating , much appreciated .

Olaf Roemer

Germany
Rating

Tour: #388496, Bandar, Wildlife, Indigenous Food & Culture Tour - Olaf & Frank - 11th Sept 2018, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Sep 11/18

Irene and Simon had prepared a perfect day for us in Brunei, everything we had discussed in advance was perfectly illustrated: culture, rainforest, rural+indigenious life and urban splendour of local character. We fully recommend this.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Olaf for taking your time to leave a review. Glad you guys enjoyed the tour ! :)

Lawrence Chachere

United States
Rating

Tour: #388496, City & wildlife plus Indigenous Culture & Food for Lawrence Chachere 16th August 2018, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei    view tour
Date: Aug 16/18

My expectations for this tour were very high, and it managed to exceed the expectations. I seldom use guided tours during travel, but I would highly recommend this for both adults and kids. The lunch was the best meal we had in our 3 week vacation to Southeast Asia (and we had many good meals.) The itinerary was perfect for everybody in our group. The tour is an excellent value.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks so much for your review. I’m delighted you and your family had such a good time :)