Traveler Reviews of Private Tours in Montevideo Uruguay by Tour Guide Gabriel C. (Guide #1026)


Jim Wideman

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour March 19,2018, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 19/18

Gabriel was a fantastic guide and host, very knowledgeable and has great understanding of the history of Montevideo. Would recommend him highly. Jim and Christine Wideman

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Jim for your great review. It was my pkeasure meeting you all, I had a wonderful time sharing this tour with you four! Best of regards! Gabriel

Max Kaufmann

Corseaux, VD, Switzerland
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour For Max Kaufmann(Feb. 26, 2018), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 26/18

Our first time visit to Montevideo was a real success thanks to Gabriel. He is well experienced and very knowledgeable. His former activities as architect allow him to bring in additional interesting information on the city and its history. While being flexible according to our wishes, he managed to show us a maximum in the given time.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Max, thank you for this great review! It was so nice meeting you and sharing some time together. You were very engaging! Hope you make it back some day. I wish you a great year ahead. All the best! Gabriel

Temma Kanowith

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Shore Excursion City Walking, Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 17/18

We learned so much more than the tour indicated. We loved the walk and lunch. We also took a bus ride and learned how to navigate the system. We saw some beautiful areas of the city and the Pocitos districts.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so very much Temma for your feedback. It was my pleasure sharing the day with you. Have a great year ahead. All the best, Gabriel

Gregg Andrews

Canada
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Shore Excursion City Walking, Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 15/18

Gabriel was very knowledgable. His English is excellent and his voice carries well in surrounding noise. The tour was well-paced and informative. We appreciated the refreshment stop with bathroom facility.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Glegg for your wonderful feedback! It was so nice meeting you, wish you a great year ahead. All the best, Gabriel

Andrew Blay

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 5/18

Gabriel is very knowledgeable guide and passionate about his city

Valerie Stern

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo and Winery Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 3/18

A most delight day spent with a knowledgeable and endearing gentlemen. Very responsive and quick to accommodate. Made the day perfect. Would book with him again in an instant. Van and driver we very professional as well absolutly no complaints.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Valerie for your great review. It was such a pleasure and a joy meeting you all and sharing time together. I do certainly look forward to seeing all of you back and enjoying some more of Montevideo, Punta del Este and whatever you would like to explore. Have a great time in Buenos Aires and all the best. Warm regards, Gabriel

Helen Swanston

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour (Feb. 2, 2018), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 2/18

Gabriel was fantastic. Well read, professional, detail oriented, spoke great English and timely. Gave us a great overview of his country and Montivideo- enjoyed his company and ate at a lovely neighborhood restaurant which was great!! Thank you Gabriel.....also, the driver- Guillermo, was perfect. Great driving, acccomodating and professional ! Thanks to both

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so very much Helen for your great review. Meeting you all was absolutely wonderful, hearing you sing was gorgeous, YOU ARE INCREDIBLE, CONGRATULATIONS! It was such a pleasure and a joy sharing time together. Have a great time and hope you’ll make it back some day. All the best. Warm regards, GABRIEL

Leslie Estelle

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Shore Walking trip Downtown and Pocitos Residential Beaches Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Jan 7/18

Gabriel was waiting for us (two couples ) when we exited our cruise ship . We had a very informative walking tour of the historic area . Gabriel is a retired engineer and has lived in the city his whole life with his family . We were able to learn so much about the area and his country due to his knowledge. We also took a bus to the beach front area - which was gorgeous. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed being able to experience Montevideo with such a friendly and knowledgeable gentleman.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Leslie so much for your great review! It was truly a pleasure meeting you, you made it all so easy and enjoyable. I’m happy ToursByLocals was such a wonderful experience. Hope to see you back, have a great year ahead, cheers! Gabriel

Dayal Mirchandani

Canada
Rating

Tour: #3332, Montevideo Afternoon Excursion Tour ( Jan 1st, 2018) for Dayal Mirchandani, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 1/18

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Dayal, I enjoyed hosting you and your family !!! You make it all easy. I am looking forward to touring you and your family again in the future. All the best Gabriel

Rolando Garbalosa

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Half-day Tour Rolando Garbalosa (Dec 30, 2017), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 30/17

Excellent Tour, Gabriel has a vast knowledge of the city and was very friendly and did an excellent job.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Rolando Thank you very much for such a glowing review. All the best to you and your friends. Remember if you come back to Uruguay , just contact me. Gabriel

Franky Chan

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour (5 to 6 hours on March 9,2017), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 9/17

Gabriel was an excellent guide providing informative details on each of the points of interest. The tour was very well organized and covered a lot of attractions in 6 hours. Fernando was a courteous and safe driver. I would strongly recommend anyone for this private tour in Montevideo.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Franky, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! It was so nice meeting you and spending time together. It was fun and I enjoyed it a lot. Hope you make it back someday. Have a great year ahead, all the best, Gabriel

Michele Cullen

Melrose, MA, United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo and Winery Tour - (March 7th, 2017 ), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 7/17

We had a fabulous Montevideo City and Wine Tour with Gabriel. As a Montevideo native and retired Architect, Gabriel was able to provide us with detailed knowledge of his beloved city and country. We visited all of the key monuments as outlined in the tour description. The visit to the Stagnari Winery was one of the highlights of our day. The staff at the winery was extremely welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Great wine, food and friends! I highly recommend booking a tour with Gabriel.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Michele, thanks for your great review! It was so nice and such fun meeting you, I did really enjoy our time together. Hope you make it back someday. Have a great year ahead, all the best, Gabriel

Marian Hall

Australia
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Half-day Tour(Feb 16,2017), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 16/17

Gabriel was an extremely good guide, speaking perfect English,and we had an excellent tour. But it was very expensive compared with other similar tours available on the wharf or through the ship, so we would have to recommend that you have a group of 4 or 6 to share the cost of Tours by Locals

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Marian for your feedback. It was nice meeting you. Have a great year ahead. Best wishes, Gabriel

Cynthia Ernst

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo and Winery Tour Shore Excursion ( January 12th, 2017), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 12/17

Wonderful Tour-loved Montevideo and Santa Rosa Winery! Gabriel was did a fabulous job and would highly recommend!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Cynthia, thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was really nice meeting you and sharing an enjoyable day. Wish you a great year and hope to see you someday back. All the best, Gabriel

Ken Waithman

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Shore Excursion Tour (Jan.9,2017), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 9/17

Gabriel was very professional and extremely knowledgeable I would highly recommend his services to anyone.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: It was my pleasure meeting you and showing you the City of MOntevideo. Thank you for your nice review. Greetings for you all, Gabrie

Ellen W.

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour (Dec. 21st , 2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 21/16

Gabriel was an excellent guide - extremely knowledgable about virtually any subject (and we were constantly barraging him with questions). Would strongly recommend him. He is very detail-oriented.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Ellen for your wonderful feedback! It was so nice meeting you, wish you a great year ahead and hope to see you someday back! All the best, Gabriel

Tina Coulter

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Excursion Full Day Tour (5 to 6 hours)(Nov.26,2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 26/16

Dr Noah Chivian

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour (Nov.5th ,2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 5/16

Gabriel Cast,our tour guide, treated the four of us as if we were family.Visited the important buildings in the Central district. Plenty of time for photos and we enjoyed Gabriel's informed narrative and his choice of places to see, Plaza de la Armada, the Mercado de los Artesonas, a square block crafts show. A meaningful stop was the Holocaust Memorial , Memorial al Holocausto Del Pueblo Judio, the only one in SA. Lunch near from Gabriel's home was a chance to see Montevideo from a native's view.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: What a wonderful review, thank you so much Noah! It was my great pleasure meeting you and sharing my nice City with you. I wish you a great year ahead, all the best for you all, Gabriel

Lawrence Esposito

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour (March 25,2016) for Lawrence Esposito, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 25/16

Gabriel was very knowledgable about not only Uruguay culture and region, provided a memorable day for us.

Lisa Amoroso

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Shore Excursion Walking Tour(Saturday March 5th,2016) for L.Fucille, Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Mar 5/16

Gabriel, our very personable guide today, was incredibly knowledgable about Montevideo and Uruguay. We were a group of five people with varying interests. He fielded questions on topics ranging from indigenous people, economics, history, vegetation, architecture, local customs, farmers markets and culinary arts (plus many more) with such ease, indepth knowledge and clarity that we were all amazed. If in Montevideo, we would all highly recommend a day with Gabriel!

Connie Campbell

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour Shore Excursion(Feb.26, 2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 26/16

Great tour; he was very accommodating and a wonderful guide.

Connie Campbell

United States
Rating

Tour: Punta del Este Mixed Tour Walking and Car Tour ( Feb.25, 2016 ), Punta del Este, Uruguay
Date: Feb 25/16

Connie Campbell

United States
Rating

Tour: Punta del Este Mixed Tour Walking and Car Tour, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Date: Feb 25/16

Robert Burton

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour Shore Excursion (Feb.18,2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 18/16

Gabriel was a great guide. Winery was fantastic. Great tour of Montevideo.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Robert ,for your kind words,I enjoyed meeting you all. Gabriel

Samantha Hill

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour Shore Excursion(Jan.12th,2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 12/16

Gabriel was a fabulous guide. He spoke excellent English, was very personable, and provided excellent insight into the culture and history of Montevideo. We toured with my elderly mother who walks with a cane. Gabriel was very attentive and respectful to this and ensured mom was taken care of. He went at her pace. Highly recommend Gabriel. Thank you, as this was one of our favorite tours!

Igor May

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Shore Excursion Full Day Tour (6 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 11/16

Sharon Leonard

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City PrivateFull Day Tour (Jan.3, 2016), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 3/16

Thanks to Gabriel for showing us Montevideo with such love and passion. Gabriel not only showed us the sights but skillfully explained how the locals live and enjoy the city. He is very proud of his city and is eager to share with visitors. The tour works well for cruise ship passengers as Gabriel is waiting for you right outside the port exit door. We requested to have lunch at a favorite local restaurant and Gabriel selected an outstanding family owned steakhouse that we enjoyed very much.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Sharon, thank you so very much for your great review and heartful words. You were so engaging and wonderful to spend time with! Hope to see you back so we can try another good place for lunch. Wish you all the best for the New Year ahead. Warm regards, Gabriel

Stephen P.

Washington, DC, United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Shore Excursion Walking Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Jan 2/16

Gabriel provided us an excellent and insightful tour of Montevideo. He brings his own unique experiences from the city to bear which adds personal and historical contexts. Gabriel is delightful, cheery, and knowledgable. We throughly enjoyed our time with him.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hey Steve, thank you so much for your wonderful review! I also enjoyed sharing the day with you it was fun! I hope you had a great time in Montevideo and also enjoyed visiting Uruguay. I look forward to seeing you back again. Best wishes for the year ahead!

Josephine Ho

Canada
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Full Day Tour ( Dec.21,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 21/15

Liz Bates

Belgium
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour Shore Excursion, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jun 14/15

Gabriel met us at the hotel, as suggested with a driver. He was very knowledgeable and gave us the tour that we had asked for, jumping in to translate when we needed. He also gave us some tips for restaurants and where to find the best artisan woolens that we were interested in. A great day out!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Liz for your feedback and kind words. I'm happy you enjoyed the tour and look forward to meeting you again. All the best, Gabriel

Danny Mak

Canada
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 2/15

Montevideo was an absolute surprize in a very positive way! Gabriel did a great job of showing off his city. What beautiful coast line which we wouldn't have expeienced without our guide and this tour.

Debra Li

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour for Crusiers and Hotels tourists., Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 28/15

Very informative and helpful guide. Couldn't ask for a better experience in Uruguay.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Debra for your kind words. It was my pleasure to show you and your parents of this great city. I enjoyed every moment spent together. Warmest regards to all of you, Gabriel

Robert G.

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (6 hours) Feb 20th, 2015, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 20/15

Excellent guide and driver.. Adjusts the tour to your special needs and requests.. You can't go wrong asking for Gabriel...

Frances Turner

Australia
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Feb 16/15

Gabriel was an excellent guide. He is knowledgable about the architecture and history of the city. There were 6 in our group and our tour was carefully paced to suit our various abilities. Gabriel was very good at being inclusive of everyone. We really enjoyed getting to know how and where the local people work, shop and relax by walking and riding on public buses.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Frances , I always enjoy my walking and city bus tours,it is an excellent way to know this Montevideo city. The best for you all, Gabriel

Rob White-Cooper

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van Tour ( February 9th ,2015), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 9/15

I recently arranged two tours …. in Montevideo and Punta del Este…. the tour guide was Gabriel C. Both tours were excellent and we found Gabriel to be very well informed, very helpful and willing to go that extra mile. Our tour party rated Gabriel 5 out of 5 and as a result will be recommending your organization to other interested friends.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Rob... for your kind comments....it was a pleasure showing Punta del Este and Montevideo to you, and your friends...and I appreciate your having chosen me to be your tour guide. With warmest regards Gabriel

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: We're so pleased you had a wonderful time with Gabriel, and thank you for recommending us to your travel-loving friends!

Rob White-Cooper

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (Feb.8 th,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 8/15

I recently arranged two tours …. in Montevideo and Punta del Este…. the tour guide was Gabriel C. Both tours were excellent and we found Gabriel to be very well informed, very helpful and willing to go that extra mile. Our tour party rated Gabriel 5 out of 5 and as a result will be recommending your organization to other interested friends.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Rob... for your kind comments....it was a pleasure showing Montevideo and Punta del Este to you, and your friends...and I appreciate your having chosen me to be your tour guide. With warmest regards Gabriel

Noel Leifer

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips ( Jan 31st, 2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 31/15

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Noel, thank you very much for your rating. It was a great pleasure meeting you again after two years of your first visit to Montevideo and show you new sites of our beautiful city. I look forward to a third visit to show you still more of our country!!! All the best for you all, Gabriel

Alan Natter

United States
Rating

Tour: Colonia Tour for Buenos Aires staying passengers. (Jan.14,2015), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Jan 14/15

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Alan for your feedback. It was a pleasure meeting you. I hope you have a good trip back home. All the best, Gabriel

Mayer Schames

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips (and Hotel), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 10/15

Gabriel was very attentive to our needs. He was on time, knowledgeable and accessible. We had a wonderful time in Montevideo which he made all the more enjoyable.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Mayer for your nice review. I very much enjoyed meeting you and your sons. Hope you make it back some time in the future. Have a great year. All the best, Gabriel

Dwayne Jacobson

Canada
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van Tour for Cruise ( Friday, Jan 9th, 2015), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 9/15

Gabriel was an excellent host for us and it helped in that he was a retired Architect and I had been in the Architectural business for more than 40 years. He took us to the highlights as well as to the studio/Home of Pablo Atchugarry. Being in the field of the Arts we appreciated this tour. We recommend Gabriel highly as a Guide and potentially becoming a lifelong friend.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Dwayne and Sharon for your great review! I am glad you all appreciated the Punta tour. Punta del Este is a city with beautiful neighborhoods filled with amazing residences designed by outstanding architects together with amazing well kept gardens. This was clearly one of the most enjoyable tours I've done. I not only met lovely people but I also made good friends. I hope to see you soon somewhere sometime. All the best, have a great year. Warm regards, Gabriel

Mark Bogue

United States
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van Tour for Cruise, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 8/15

We hired Gabriel to take a group of 14 of us all over Punta del Este for the day. We also visited a beach on the far south side of town and then eventually had him take us to a wonderful beach restaurant about 40 minutes north of Punta del Este for a late lunch and then finished with some shopping before returning to the ship. Gabriel was on time to meet us and he made the whole day very enjoyable for our group. He speaks English very well and takes him time explaining and interacting with the group.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Mark, thank you so much for your great review. I'm happy you had a wonderful time. It was truly my pleasure. I hope you can make it back in the near future. Warm regards to you all. Gabriel

DeeDee McCutchan

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Winery Tour (January 6th , 2015), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 6/15

Gabriel provided us with an entertaining, informative and thorough tour of Montevideo. He was professional, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and Uruguay's history. We loved the wnery tour and tasting too. It was a great day!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi DeeDee, Thank you for nice review. It was my pleasure meeting you. I am glad you liked the Winery tasting, and the Car Collection. I very much enjoyed the tour and hope to see you back soon. Warm regards, Gabriel

Glenn Griffin

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Full-day Tour for Cruise Trips, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 31/14

Gabriel was an excellent tour guide. His knowledge of the city, country, culture plus his very good English language skills made for an excellent day tour of Montevideo. Gabriel arranged for to see everything we wanted. As we specifically requested certain souvenirs Gabriel stopped at a great shop that had all we wanted plus some. It was perfect, a nice quality shop, not a tourist trap.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Glenn for your wonderful review. It was my pleasure hosting you and I very much enjoyed sharing my day with you all. Hope to see you back sometime soon. All the best, Gabriel

Jorge Urzua

Mexico
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van tour (Dec.28th,2014), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 28/14

Gabriel es una persona encantadora. Es el guía perfecto.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hola Jorge, muchisimas gracias por esta evaluacion. Realmente fue un grandísimo placer conocerlos, una preciosa familia. Vuestra compania fue un disfrute total y espero volverlos a ver en un futuro. Un calido saludo para cada uno, Gabriel

Peter Petersen

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (Oct. 30th ,2014), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Oct 30/14

Gabriel did a wonderful job of guiding us around Montevideo. He was punctual, very knowledgeable, has a wonderfully warm personality and being around him was a lot of fun. Highly recommended.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Peter, thank you so much for your great review. You were so engaging and wonderful to spend time with. This was clearly one of the most enjoyable tours I've done. It was lovely meeting you and Mary, Judith, Chuck, Sally and David and hope you will visit us some day soon. My warmest regards to you all, Gabriel

Paul Clites

Houston, TX, United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Aug 11/14

I had a fantastic tour with Gabriel! It was like walking the city with a friend I have known a long time. He has great insights into the city and country, the history, the culture, the architecture and other things of interest. He adjusted well to my interests. Very much worth the time and cost!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: It was a real pleasure to meet you and spend time with you in Montevideo. Thank you so much for your review, Paul. I discovered a new museum during this tour. I am so pleased you had a nice day and I hope you make it back to Uruguay soon!

Scott Kocurek

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Mar 19/14

Gabriel knew a lot about the city. We enjoyed our visit. Gabriel was clearly passionate about the architecture and history of the city. We really enjoyed eating at the local restaurant in one of the neighborhoods outside the main downtown area.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Scott & Michelle, Thank you! You were so engaging & wonderful to spend time with! Gabriel

Kari Widor

Cudahy, WI, United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips (and Hotel), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 1/14

Gabriel was very informative and went out of his way to make our tour very enjoyable.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Kari I really enjoyed your company and the tour was great. Hope to see you again, all the best, Gabriel

George Brody

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Corchos Bistro Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 27/14

Great tour, including the wine tasting and the tapas at the "Corchos"! Comfortable van.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much, George! I loved doing your tour.

Doris Katz

United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 5/14

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Stanley and Doris! I enjoyed my time with you.

Dale Winograd

United States
Rating

Tour: #29475, Montevideo and Punta del Este - Two Cities in a Full Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 3/14

Despite the 'off and on' rain.......Gabriel gave us a great day..and the rain never stopped us from seeing everything! Great van to tour in and a very knowledgeable guide. Gabriel packed a full day of sight seeing..and a nice local lunch! Highly recommend him and his knowledge!!!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Dale,for your kind words,I enjoyed meeting you all, hope next time it won´t rain. Kind regards, Gabriel

Susan K.

Ottawa, ONTARIO, Canada
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips (and Hotel), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 31/14

Gabriel gave us an excellent, well thought-out, and very thorough overview of the city. We were pleased and relieved to see him waiting for us even though our ship docked more than an hour late. This was our first experience with Tours By Locals and we were very impressed.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: We're happy to hear your first experience with us was excellent! We hope to be able to assist you in future travels.

David Stoppard

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Jan 20/14

Gabriel is a highly knowledgeable guide and his architectural background adds to the quality of his tour. We had originally booked the walking tour but half way through the heavens opened and during lunch he was able to conjure up an excellent minibus service for our party of six which allowed us to see even more than we had originally planned. We would highly recommend Gabriel.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much, David for such a glowing review. I am glad that you enjoyed the tour. Next time, I will arrange a sunny day. I appreciate your having chosen me to be your tour guide. With warmest regards, Gabriel

Marti S.

United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 3/14

Gabriel was wonderful. He was prompt, professional, and informative. We saw the old city (downtown), entered an Old Sephardic Synagogue (which was disappointing, not well maintained), Holocaust Memorial (small), Artigas Statue, World Trade Center, and walked the mall. He was very aware and helpful with my 85 year old mother. We enjoyed a lunch at one of his local favorites. The city was warm and welcoming and would highly recommend Gabriel.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Marti, I enjoyed Montevideo tour with you, and maybe in a next visit you will try our Pizza instead of the Chivito. I will always remember our search for the Coke glass bottle. All the best, Gabriel

Marti S.

United States
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van Tour for Cruise, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 2/14

Gabriel was prompt for our rainy day tour. We swung by Casapueblo to view from afar. As we tried to get closer, the crowd of cars and people made us turn back after inspecting the steps leading to the building. We spent more time exploring the city: Mansa Beach, Conrad Casino, Punta del Este lighthouse, Brava Beach "fingers", La Barra wavy bridge, as well as many gorgeous neighborhoods. Gabriel's information was well researched but sometimes confusing (population of area during high season). Worthwhile!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Marti, It was my pleasure meeting you and showing you Punta del Este. For your next visit I promise you a sunny day!!! Please give my regards to Louis, Hermina Beverly,Rachel,Shelley, and Sam. Thanks so much for your kind words . Warmest regards, Gabriel

Abe Nozetz

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour (car / van tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 18/13

A well organized tour and also very interesting.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Abe, great pleasure. Kindest regards, Gabriel

Nancy Shelmon

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips (and Hotel), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 17/13

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Nancy for your rating. I hope you'll taste and enjoy our Uruguayan food. It was my pleasure meeting you. All the best, Gabriel

Jackson P.

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jun 9/13

Gabriel was there to meet us as promised, was helpful coordinating with our other travel arrangements, offered incisive and thorough information about the city and the country and he was very well spoken and easy to understand. His knowledge of the city's and country's history provided a complete perspective. Many thanks to Gabriel. I would recommend him to anyone.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Jack, for your kind words.I really enjoyed the tour and I hope if you come back may visit Punta del Este.Regards, Gabriel

Johan Wilhelm (Hans) v.

Netherlands
Rating

Tour: Montevideo City Private Full and Flexible Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Apr 29/13

On time, well organized, very knowledgeable and good English/American language skills. Montevideo in a day has time very well spend with him as your guide. I liked it a lot.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Hans for your nice review.It was a great pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed sharing the day with you.Thanks to you also for your request to visit Palacio Taranco . I was surprised visiting this beautiful building. Have a great year, best regards, Gabriel

Linda Berman

United States
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van Tour for Cruise or Hotel tourists, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 9/13

Gabriel was our guide in Punta del Este and our entire group of 6 was extremely happy with the tour he provided. Gabriel was very responsive to our group, and helped tailor the tour to our interests. His English was excellent and he was extremely knowledgeable about the area. We were all delighted by our trip to a sculptural garden that was located near the city, and we would highly recommend him as a tour guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Linda thank you for your review and I am glad to know that you all enjoyed the Punta del Este tour. Your visit gave me the opportunity to visit Atchugarry Foundation. Send my regards to your husband Chi-Ming ,and to Anne,Robert,Sandra and Richard. I enjoyed and learnt from your company. All the best, Gabriel

Sawanie Choi

Canada
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Tour for Cruise 6 Hour Special tour, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 6/13

He is good and knowledgeable, very friendly. We had a very good tour of Punta del Este.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Sawanie thank you for your review and I am glad to know that you all enjoyed the Punta del Este tour. Have a great year. kind regards. Gabriel

Nancy Eastlund

Aiea, HI, United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour - Juanico Winery Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 5/13

Hola and Aloha Gabriel! Our Montevideo day tour with Gabriel as our guide, was full of fun, history and excitement. Our Sun Tours Hawaii group of 33 truly enjoyed Gabriel's professionalism, enthusiasm, and knowledge. He planned out a great day with me in knowing what the group wanted to do, needed to see and fulfilled all of our expectations. We really enjoyed Uruguay. I look forward to using Gabriel's services again.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Nancy and Lon, Thank you for nice review. It was my pleasure meeting you, and having fun with such a nice group.Unfortunately I had to share the Hawaiian chocolates and coffee which were too good!!!!. I enjoyed the tour very much and hope to see you back soon.Warm regards, Gabriel

Kathleen Kratz

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo City Tour and Winery (6 tourists), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 4/13

Very informed about his city and pointed out many great architectural sites. Took us to places we wanted to see. Don't miss the market! Would recommend him for any visit in Uruguay

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for your kind words ,and nice review I hope to see you back in Punta de Este, I will prepare the weather to be sunny warm and sky blue. Have a great year, all the best. Gabriel

Kelly Hampton

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (6 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 26/13

We loved Montevideo. It is a beautiful and interesting city with lots to see and Gabriel made sure we saw it all. He added in the sights we requested, didn't mind grabbing a quick lunch from the supermarket and took us to a lovely area to eat by the water. We would highly recommend Gabriel and Tours by Locals.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Kelly, Thank you for your review. I think that a flexible tour as ours ,it is the best way to enjoy the tour day. Eating Empanadas at the Virgilio's Plaza the most beautiful site in Montevideo was also great. Buying food at the supermarket you also experience how we live here in Montevideo. The best for you and your friends.I hope that you will come again in the future. Gabriel

Richard Engelman

Longmeadow, MA, United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour Van tour for 6 passengers, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 16/13

Exceptional tour and everything we could have asked for.

Elinor G.

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips (and Hotel), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 13/13

Gabriel was terrific. He is knowledgeable and flexible. We totally changed the plan and he was cool with that. We talked about everything and learned a lot: about Uruguay history, about Jewish history in Uruguay, about social attitudes and about architecture (he's trained as an architect). He arranged for an excellent driver as well. Montevideo is a wonderful city and Gabriel gave us a wonderful introduction to it. Highly recommend him.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Elinor and Max,it was really nice meeting you, and sharing a wonderful time together. I'm glad you like the "lomo" at the restaurant, and I hope next time it will be even better. Enjoy your trip .Thank you for your feedback and nice words. All the best , Gabriel

Josephine Sivaretnam

Malaysia
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Car or Van Full Day Tour (6 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 7/13

Very Good guide with clear understanding of the city, history and culture.Helpful and patient. We enjoyed Montevideo.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: It was my pleasure meeting you and showing you the City of MOntevideo. Thank you for your nice review. Greetings for you all, Gabriel

Cyril Dane

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour (Car/Van tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 1/13

we enjoyed our tour with Mikael very much however we were disappointed that he did not take us inside any of the synagogues on the tour. We assumed we were not permitted access but found out after from others who took a similar tour either from the ship or with private guide that they all were taken into some of the synagogues. Considering what we paid for the tour we feel we should have been taken into these sites since it was primarily a Jewish Heritage tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank Cyril for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed the tour. I understand your disappointment about not having visited any synagogue.I my webpage description about this tour, it is written :"Visiting these buildings inside, as synagogues, require special permits by the security of these sites. Please ask for details about this option." It is quite difficult to arrange a visit at the moment of the tour. I am sorry for the misunderstanding. All the best,Gabriel

Sara Cress

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour-6 Passengers (feb1), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 1/13

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Sara, I want to thank you for your great review. It was my pleasure meeting you all.Kindest regards, Gabriel

Noel Leifer

United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour Van tour for 8 passengers (Jan 29), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 29/13

Met us on time, knowledgeable, responsive, did an all around great job

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for for kind words, I enjoyed the tour sharing the day with you.I hope you had a good trip home.Warm regards. Gabriel

James E. Walden

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Dec 16/12

We had an excellent walking tour with Gabriel, in spite of heavy rain. Gabriel is very knowledgable and personable. He was sensitive to our interests and flexible. We started the tour on foot and then took a bus.

Mark Elfant

United States
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Van Tour for Cruise or Hotel tourists, Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 8/12

Gabriel drove up to Punta Del Este and met us at the ship. Since we had him and the driver the day before we were comfortable with them. Both of them did an excellent job and would highly recommend them

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Mark,Wendy,Jack and Mary Lou it was my pleasure meeting you and showing you both cities Montevideo and Punta del Este. Thank you for your nice review. Greetings for you all, Gabriel

Mark Elfant

United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour Van tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 7/12

Gabriel did a excellent job. Everything was as planned.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you you Mark for your kind words.I did really enjoy the tour. Happy New Year. All the best , Gabriel

John Rayson

Kootenay Bay, BC, Canada
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City private Van Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 19/12

Excellent tour and knowledge. Great vehicle. John

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your words ,it was my pleasure, meeting you,I hope one day you will come again to visit Punta del Este. Happy New year. Gabriel

Richard duBusc

United States
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Tour and Punta del Este Tour (Oct 9th), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Oct 9/12

Gabriel was interesting, knowledgeable, responsive and hard working...he went out of his way to insure we had a good tour.. and he succeeded,...in fact a GREAT tour...I would recommend him highly and thank Tours by Locals for providing us with such a fine individual...

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Richard for your kind and motivating words. I really enjoyed meeting you all. Your words encourage me to work still harder. Warm regards,Gabriel

David King

Dallas, TX, United States
Rating

Tour: Colonia del Sacramento Tour, Colonia, Uruguay
Date: Sep 25/12

Gabriel was there waiting for us at the ferry terminal. We walked around Colonia del Sacramento and he was able to tell us many facts about the town. He arranged for us to buy a museum pass to see the small museums in the area. I will give only three stars since he did not seem well-aquainted with the streets. Also, for some reason, we wound up paying for his lunch. We double-checked the receipt. This is the first time we've ever paid for a guide's meal. We didn't want to make a scene and ruin the day.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback, there is something to learn from each tour. I have been several times with tourists, in Colonia and I know the city well I always carry a map so the tourists recognize where they are. I am flexible and I always appreciate when visitors express their dislikes at the moment,so I can be glad to please them. I really enjoyed the tour and it was nice meeting you. Gabriel

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: The issues stated in this review were brought up to the guide and the guide's manager attention. The refund for our guide's meal is set to be issued as per our agreement with the customer.

Derek Horstemeyer

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Mar 24/12

We had never done a tour by locals but we figured it was a good idea in Uruguay since my wife and I speak spanish poorly; we were pleasantly surprised! Gabriel is fluent in English(having spent some time in the USA), and his knowledge and enthusiasm for the area around Montevideo is outstanding; there is quite a bit of walking but we thoroughly enjoyed it, especially our side trip out to pocitos (what a seafood feast and very inexpensive!) Next time we want to visit some wineries, thank you Gabriel

Rita Kubas

Birmingham, ALABAMA, United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour and Stagnari Winery ( Full day - 7 hour tour ), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 20/12

Gabriel was a great guide and very intellegent and knowledgeable. Our only negative was the lunch spot- 3 plates of beef pieces, 4 beers, two colas and melted cheese pieces $120 for 3 couples and Gabriel. Most expensive lunch in 18 tours. He needs to find a new place for tour groups..........

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Rita for your kind words. Regarding lunch prices I agree with you, but in Uruguay you would find the same prices in similar restaurants. Besides, restaurants charge 22% VAT and a table fee of 3 USD pp for cutlery, bread and butter plus 10% tip. Food has international reasonable prices, but beverages in all Uruguayan restaurants are ridiculous, they charge double the price than supermarkets. I will follow your suggestion and find a new place for tour groups. All the best, Gabriel

Jane Weiss

United States
Rating

Tour: Punta del Este Walking Tour and City Bus for Crusiers and Hotels tourists, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Date: Mar 12/12

Gabriel is an extremely competent, well informed guide. We requested an all day walking tour of Punta Del Este and he gave us exactly what we wanted, he always offered alternatives and sought our opinion on what to do next. Gabriel is very knowledgeable about Uruguay and Punta Del Este, he gave us lots of information on history and culture. We visited the Raleigh Museum and he provided info on the art and sculpture. We had a terrific tour with Gabriel.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Jane, I thank you very much for your comment. It was a real pleasure meeting you and your husband and I enjoyed every moment I spent showing you Punta del Este city highlights. This tour was my first Punta del Este Walking Tour.Hope next time doesn´t rain!!! Thank you! Gabriel

Sandra Lau

Hong Kong
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (8 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 7/12

Gabriel was well-organized, informative, flexible and helpful. He made sure that our needs were met and everyone in our group was happy! We enjoyed our tour with him. Thank you.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Sandra, thank you so much for your great review! It was my pleasure meeting you all. I enjoyed touring you around Montevideo.Thanks for translating me what was written under the Confucius statue. You all 13 passengers were photographers fans ,and as all wanted to be in touch with your families through WiFi,so I tried to do my best to fulfill your desire. All the best, Gabriel

Ken Arlein

United States
Rating

Tour: #3332, Punta del Este Tour for Cruise tourists (van with professional chauffeur or car), Punta del Este, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Mar 6/12

We enjoyed our tour with Gabriel. His English was excellent and he was extremely knowledgable and competent. He knew his subject matter and provided a comfortable car and a good driver.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much Ken for your nice comment and review I really enjoyed meeting you. All the best Gabriel

Keith Jackson

Noosaville, QLD, Australia
Rating

Tour: #3203, Montevideo City Private Half-day Tour for Cruise Trips ( and Hotel), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 29/12

Great tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Gabriel is flexible about his sightseeing (like most Tours by Locals guides) and this boosts the experience. Montevideo is a great city and Gabriel provided a wonderful introduction to it

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Keith for you kind words and great review. I hope you'll taste and enjoy our Uruguayan wine, so you have to come back and buy some more. It was my pleasure meeting you. All the best, Gabriel

William Melendy

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (6/7 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 24/12

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks William for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you. Best regards, Gabriel

Donna Pierce

Teaneck Township, NJ, United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour (Car/Van tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 21/12

We had a wonderful tour with Gabriel. We shared life experiences with him and found we had so much in common. He was one of the most delightful people we have met. After the tour he joined us for a memorable lunch of Uruguayan food. We ate where the locals eat!! Gabriel made our tour of Montevideo unforgetable. Thank you to Gabriel and to Tours By Locals!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for your kind words and nice review.It was my pleasure meeting you all. Since the very beginning I felt very comfortable as if we had known each other since years. Warm regards, Gabriel

Linda Robison

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour and Winery for Crusiers, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 15/12

We had a wonderful day with Gabriel. After a bit of a rocky start because the van was 30 minutes late the rest of the day was great. Gabriel was well informed and a great guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Linda for your kind words and review. I really enjoyed your company and the tour was great. Hope to see you again, all the best, Gabriel

Lorne Gladstone

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour (Car/Van tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Feb 14/12

Gabriel is knowledgeable and attentive, and was a very pleasant guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks Lorne for your kind words. I really enjoyed your company. I hope you had a nice trip back home. All the best, Gabriel

Vera Davis

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11438, Montevideo and Jewish Heritage Tour (Old City- Pocitos) by taxi or city buses, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 25/12

We had an excellent walking tour with Gabriel…saw the old city, many Jewish buildings, & the cathedral. We spent time visiting the beach and a residential area of Montevideo. I think it gave us a good feel for what it is like to live in such a lovely city. We thoroughly enjoyed the day, Gabriel was knowledgable and attentive. Thanks for making private tours available. Verea & Bryan

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Vera for your nice words and motivating review. It was my pleasure showing you so many sites including the neighborhood where I live. At the same time, let me thank you for the opportunity to learn about wonderful Martinez Cafe due to the fact that the Havanna Cafe didn't have bread that day. For sure every time I walk by Bello and Reboratti's houses in Pocitos, I remember you! I wish you a very nice end enjoyable long trip around the world. All the best, Gabriel

Mary Ellen Weber

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour (6/7 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 24/12

Gabrielle waited for us even though we were at fault for an one hour time difference between the ship and shore. We were so grateful. He toured his neighborhood with us and we enjoyed a typical steak sandwich at one of his favorite restaurants. He took us everywhere, toured the new Opera House addition, and even gave us a print out of the history of Uruguay. We highly recommend touring with Gabrielle.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Mary Ellen for your kind and nice words and review. I always learn something with each tour, and because of that hour time difference I advised to all the next tours I had after yours of such a difference. I hope you'll try to prepare some chivitos at home. Warm regards, Gabriel

Renee Duffey

United States
Rating

Tour: #3204, Montevideo Tour Winery ( Half day - 5 hour tour ), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 14/12

Gabriel was extremely organized, professional and informative. He made sure that our needs were met and that we saw as much as possible within our limited time frame.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Renee for your nice and kind words. I really enjoyed all the tour and our chat along the way and at the winery. For your next visit, I promise to have an old Ford T to tour you around the vineyards. I send you all my warmest regards, hoping to see you sometime in the future. Take care! Gabriel

Peter Armstrong

Canada
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Jan 9/12

Gabriel was very polite, accomodating with a wealth of knowledge in all aspects of the city. He continually went out of his way to make our day more interesting. He was very helpful in keeping the costs down by using taxis and our interest in the naval museum.We would rate him as the best of all your guides that we used on this trip.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Peter for your kind and motivating review. It was my pleasure meeting you and showing you around my city, unfortunately I couldn't change the temperature on that day but anyway I hope you enjoyed our "chivito", typical Uruguayan dish. I also wish to thank you for recommending my tour to your friends. All the best, warm regards, Gabriel

Joseph Tsafnat

Canada
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo and Heritage Tour - Punta del Este (Van tour), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Jan 3/12

I wish you had more stars. Gabriel made a perfect tour with so many details and information. Cannot be better.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thanks so much Joseph for your kind and nice words. It was my pleasure to show you all a little bit of this great city and I greatly enjoyed your company. I would have stayed longer. I hope to see you soon so I will show you lots more. Thanks again and give my regards to your wonderful group.

Allen Chang

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day(7 hours) and Punta del Este Half Day Tour, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 30/11

We spent two days in Montevideo and Punta del Este with Gabriel. Though we started our tour not knowing much about Uruguay, by the end of the tour, Gabriel had told us so much about this beautiful country. Although we had first agreed to a 6 hour, it ended up being much longer as he took us to many places in Montevideo. Our group loves taking photos and he set the itinerary so that we had enough time to take photos without sacrificing any of the informative part of the tour. 5 stars for Gabriel!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Allen, thank you so much for your great review! It was my pleasure meeting you and I really enjoyed our two days tour in Montevideo and Punta del Este. Thanks for teaching me what was written under the Confucius statue. From the very beginning I noticed that all 16 were great photographers, so I tried to do my best to fulfill your desire. All the best, Gabriel

Kate K.

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Van Full Day Tour ( 7 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 27/11

Gabriel took excellent care of us from start to finish. He sent pictures before hand of exactly how to leave the terminal and he met us promptly. We got to see an incredible amount of the Montevideo area in the hours we had available.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Hi Kate, I do really thank you for your nice words. I enjoyed showing you the most of Montevideo and its outskirts. I wish you the greatest success in your computing field. All the best, Gabriel

Mark Hennecke

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (6 Hour Tour to Old City - Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Dec 26/11

What was supposed to be a 6 hour walking tour ended up being much longer (8:30am to nearly 6pm but not all walking). Gabriel was very knowledgable about Uruguayan history. He is a retired architect and loves the varied architecture of his beautiful city. His English is excellent. Since I was to board a cruise ship at the port the next day, at the end of the tour he took me down to the port to see where I would have to go. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole day and wish I could give more than 5 stars!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Mark, Thank you so much for your nice comment, I did really enjoy your company during our walking and bus tour and I also learnt a lot during our chats specially while eating seafood near our beautiful coast. I also thank you for your review and I hope you had a wonderful time with your parents in South Argentina and Chile. Looking forward to seeing you in the future, all the best, Gabriel

Judi Robinovitz

United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Tour van tour for 4 or 6, Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 20/11

We enjoyed an awesome day with Gabriel! His knowledge and personality are truly a gift to the sophisticated traveler!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Judi and Adrianne, I do really thank you for your great review, I enjoyed every moment we spent together. I will always remember our rush to take a taxi to return to the port and thanks to your swiftness we could arrive on time. I hope you had a wonderful trip. All the best, Gabriel

Andrew Greenberg

United States
Rating

Tour: #13639, Montevideo City Private Car or Van Full Day Tour (6/7 hours), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Dec 19/11

A great tour by great guide. Really brought the city and it's attractiveness to life and created great memories and impressions for us.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Andy,Carole,Lorre,Dorothy, I thank you so much for your comments. It was a real pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed every moment I spent showing you my city highlights Thank you!´ Gabriel

Suzanne Romanos

United States
Rating

Tour: #11317, Montevideo City and Jewish Heritage Van Tour (Nov 20th), Montevideo, Uruguay    view tour
Date: Nov 20/11

Gabriel was a very good guide. He was knowledgeable and showed us the highlights of the city and Jewish tour. Thank you for providing an excellent tour experience.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Suzanne, I thank you so much for your comment. It was a real pleasure meeting you all and I enjoyed every moment I spent showing you my city highlights. I hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you!

Van Wilkinson

United States
Rating

Tour: Montevideo Walking Tour (visiting Old City-Downtown-Pocitos Neighborhoods), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Nov 4/11

Gabriel worked tirelessly to provide local authenticity to the historical facts, and he never forgot the prime directive of keeping the customers (2 of us, in this case) in mind. We are both in our mid-60s, and Gabriel was an age-appropriate guide, with some American English firsthand experience. Choose him if you want a vintage doccent.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Van, I thank you so much for your comment. It was a real pleasure meeting you two and I enjoyed every moment I spent showing you my city highlights Thank you! Gabriel

Sidney Mendelsohn

United States
Rating

Tour: Walking Old City - Pocitos Montevideo Tours ( 2 to 12 tourists), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Apr 30/11

Gabriel was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend him to anybody seeking a thorough tour of the city.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Sidney, It was my pleasure touring you around and showing you a little of this my great city. I really enjoyed meeting you and we had a real good time together. Thanks so much for your kind words. I hope to meet you soon again. All the best. Warm regards, Gabriel

Erich Mohr

Canada
Rating

Tour: Walking Old City - Pocitos Montevideo Tours ( 2 to 12 tourists), Montevideo, Uruguay
Date: Apr 16/11

I very much enjoyed the walking tour with Gabriel. He was extremely knowledgable, was passionate about Montevideo and its history, explained particularly architectural details with lots of background and know-how and had a very good grasp of both the relevant history as well as current relevant factors contributing to what Uruguay is today. Finally I really enjoyed the personal interaction and very much look forward to another tour with Gabriel when the occasion presents itself. Erich Mohr, Canada

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Dear Erich, thank you so much for your kind and nice comment. It was really my pleasure meeting you and I enjoyed very much not only our walking tour but also our personal interaction. You did teach me a lot! I hope to see you soon. Warm regards, Gabriel