The NEW Seven Wonders of Nature

(back to blog)

On November 11 2011, the votes were tallied and the New Seven Wonders of Nature were chosen out of a shortlist of 28 candidates. The voting process, which began in 2007 with 440 submissions from over 200 countries, is the work of the New7Wonders Foundation.

By encouraging democratic global participation to create the new list, the foundation aims to inspire admiration, responsibility, respect and sustainable action for our world.

So...drumroll please...the NEW SEVEN NATURAL WONDERS OF THE WORLD are:

1. Iguazu Falls, Argentina and Brazil
2. Halong Bay, Vietnam
3. Table Mountain, South Africa
4. Komodo, Indonesia
5. Jeju Island, Korea
6. The Amazon, nine countries in South America
7. Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park, Philippines

Of course there were many places of incredible beauty and majesty that didn't end up as one of the final seven. And maybe you don't agree with the final results! Where are Milford Sound in New Zealand, Canada's Bay of Fundy, the Grand Canyon, the Galapagos...? For a full descriptive list of all the amazing 28 semi-finalists, go to the New7Wonders website.

Have you been to any of these places? Or perhaps you're a guide who is lucky enough to take visitors there regularly? Share your personal experiences with the new Seven Wonders on our Facebook Page!
Share This Article