Traveler Ratings of Private Tours In Reykjavik-Iceland by Tour Guide Stefan Helgi V.

Stefan Helgi V.
  Reykjavik-Iceland
Overall Rating:     about ratings


Wayne Cranston

United States
Rating

Tour: Langjokull glacier and Western Interior Private Tour, Reykjavik, Iceland
Date: Jan 29/20

Stefan was a fantastic guide! He filled in at last second when our guide got sick, but we feel super lucky to have gotten to have him on our tour. Truly an expert guide on all things Iceland, able to improvise when needed, great driving and vast knowledge on all things Iceland. We had an amazing time. He also understands things like lighting for photography and was able to ensure we were at places when the lighting was going to be best!!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you very much for the kind words! I'm glad to have been of assistance and very happy to have been a part of your successful day here in Iceland. It was great fun to travel with you. Happy travels!

Suzanne Norris

Australia
Rating

Tour: #133, 2019-12-16 to 18 Sue Norris x 4 Golden circle, South coast, Blue lagoon 3 days, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Dec 16/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Sue for the kind words. It was a great pleasure to show you and your family around in Iceland for your holiday here. Thank you for choosing me to be your guide! Travel safely.

Jamie Voorhies

United States
Rating

Tour: #136, Reykjavik city tour in vehicle - private tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Nov 8/19

Stefan was very nice tour guide. He was early, and ready to go. He knew plenty about everything! We had a wonderful tour!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Jamie for the kind words. It was a great pleasure to show you and Paul around town. Happy travels!

Jacqueline McCormick

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, 2019-10-20 to 24 Jackie Dallas Sam and Richard 5 day stay in Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Oct 20/19

We had the good luck to travel around Iceland with Stefan. Our trip was immeasurably better because of him. Stefan's expertise, local knowledge and kindness allowed our diverse group to see so much on a relaxed, happy journey. He found great food for my vegetarian son. He showed my friend's daughter the best spots for photography. Stefan's ability to customize the days to suit our needs was especially appreciated when he took us on a Northern Lights adventure. It is truly worthwhile to book with him.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Jacqueline for the great review :-) It was a great pleasure to show you all around the scenic country I was born in. I'm glad I added some value to your stay and thank you for trusting me to be your driver/guide. Stefan

Steven Graville

United States
Rating

Tour: #180, Northern Lights Tour - Private Tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Oct 9/19

Stefan is great! Prompt, informative and polite. The Northern lights that my wife and I saw were at times very faint ,but due to Stefans great photographic skill we were able to spot and then enjoy them very much! Thanks again Stefan A truly enjoyable experience! Steven and Donna Graville

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: It was a great pleasure. The northern lights can be tricky to find as there might be cloud cover or inactivity - but we had some luck. Glad it worked out for us that night. Happy to have been of assistance.

Christopher Howe

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #180, Northern Lights Tour - Private Tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Sep 27/19

Fantastic tour with Stefan, he was very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. Collected us on time, his vehicle was comfortable and clean. We learned and saw a lot on the tour, and would highly recommend it to future visitors to Iceland.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for the kind words Christopher. I loved meeting you and showing you the northern lights. We had most amazing luck with the northern lights that night but of course some nights it is too cloudy to see them and other nights there is very low activity or none at all.

Charles Berk

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, 2019-09-19 Chuck Berk x 6 Golden circle route and Fridheimar for lunch, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Sep 19/19

Stefan is an outstanding guide. On time, kept us on schedule,Very knowledgeable, accomodated some personal options, has a very pleasant way about him. We'd recommend him to anyone.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much Charles for choosing me to be your driver/guide in Iceland. I loved showing you around and I too loved to be around you. Travel safely!

Gerard Esker

United States
Rating

Tour: #133, 2019-09-08 Gerard Esker - trip for up to 17 persons with Stefan in Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Sep 8/19

Stefan is absolutely the BEST guide there is for Reykjavik. Our whole gang loved spending their days with him. He really knows his country and was so proud to be able to show it off to us. He took us everywhere and was able to adjust schedules and create the most outstanding tours possible EVERY DAY.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Gerry for the wonderful words. It was a great pleasure to be a part of your stay here in Iceland and I love your group. I'm glad you enjoyed Iceland and its scenery. Thank you for choosing me to drive and guide you in Iceland!

James P.

United States
Rating

Tour: #133, South Coast of Iceland to Vik - Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Glacier and Black Beaches, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Aug 30/19

We were in Iceland for only 6 days and wanted to see as much as possible. This included the classic South Coast tour of a lot of Iceland's most famous sites. Stefan took me on the perfect tour to let me see as much as possible in a day's time. This included the standard icons as well as many things I wouldn't have seen if I had tried it on our own. He knew everything about Iceland and its history, was friendly and personable. I would highly recommend him for any kind of tour in Iceland.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for the kind review James :-) It was a great pleasure to be with you and I loved showing you the sights! Happy travels.

Carla Carroll

United States
Rating

Tour: #926, Bicycle Tour in Reykjavik - Private Tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Aug 17/19

Absolute top notch Good equipment for the bike tour. Stefan knows all the local lore and hidden back roads to your the area. We enjoyed it a lot. Thank you Stefan

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Carla, it was a great pleasure!

Julia Karlsson

United States
Rating

Tour: #1709, Reykjavik walking tour - Private tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Aug 15/19

Stefan was wonderful; he was knowledgeable, fun, and accommodating. I am certain that there is no better guide in Reykjavik.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Julia, it was a great pleasure :-)

Carol Lazar

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, 2019-08-15 Lazar family x 4 Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Aug 15/19

Stefan was an excellent tour guide! He is very pleasant to be with and he is loaded with interesting information to enjoy along the amazing Golden Circle tour. Extremely professional & excellent guide- book far ahead you won't be disappointed. Stefan is super!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Carol for a wonderful day on the famous and must-do tour when in Iceland - the Golden circle route :-) I loved meeting you and to show you around. All the best.

Michael V.

Pleasanton, CA, United States
Rating

Tour: #133, 2019-08-13 and 14 Golden circle and Glacier lagoon for Michael Villott x 6, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Aug 13/19

Stefan's breath of knowledge is astounding. His communication skills are excellent and his local stories and anecdotes are enthralling. Overall the best guide I have had by far with Tours by Locals and I have had some really good ones. He is memorable and helped create some lasting memories. Five stars is not enough.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Michael, it was a great pleasure to show you the sights along the Golden circle and the Glacier lagoon in the south east of the country. I really enjoyed being with you and everyone else in your group. Thank you for choosing me as your guide in Iceland. I feel lucky to have this job and lucky to have met you. Travel safely.

Miranda Ward

United Kingdom
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Aug 6/19

Great tour with a very informative guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Miranda!

Don Gardiner

Australia
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jul 30/19

We had a delightful morning with Stefan, his local knowledge and personality made our tour very pleasurable, thanks Stefan

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Don!

Ken Lee

Canada
Rating

Tour: #132, 2019-07-23 Ken Lee x 6 Blue lag. & Golden circle private tour w Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jul 23/19

My family enjoys our private tour with Stefan. His vehicle is comfortable and roomy (we have a group of 6). He is courteous, attentive, knowledgeable and provides us with interesting info of all the sites we visited. He accommodates our requests and caters to my mother's limited mobility needs. We highly recommend his private tour.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Ken for the kind words. I really loved showing you around. Travel safely!

Shelia Moorman

Harrisonburg, VIRGINIA, United States
Rating

Tour: #132, 2019-07-15 Shelia Ann Moorman and Helen Bowman Moore - Golden circle with Stefan private guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jul 15/19

Maryna Tully

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jul 12/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for the vote of confidence! It was a great pleasure to show you around.

Amber Kornreich

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jul 11/19

Stefan is the best tour guide in Iceland! Not only was he accommodating, professional, and kind, but he is also extremely qualified with multiple tourism degrees. Stefan tailored a personal experience for us and struck a perfect balance between educating us about the sites, and allowing us solo time to enjoy them. We would highly recommend Stefan to anyone looking for an authentic Icelandic experience!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Amber for the kind words :-). I really enjoyed meeting you and to show you the sights. When I have customer's like you my job is most enjoyable.

Cynthia Wardell

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 29/19

We had a lovely day with Stefan. He is very knowledgeable and personable. Your country is beautiful and spending the day with you made it even more so. Would highly recommend as your tour guide.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Cynthia, it was a great pleasure to show you a part of my home country. Travel safely!

Henry Goldstein

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 25/19

Stefan gave us an amazing tour, patiently waiting for us while I shopped for an Icelandic sweater!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for the kind words :-) It was a great pleasure to show you the sights along the wonderful Golden circle route and happy to be of service.

Iliyana Om

Bulgaria
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 23/19

Our Golden circle private tour was amazing! Not only because of all the beauty you will encounter while on this route (and you will witness some extraordinary scenery), but also because there are quite a few Game of Thrones filming locations in close proximity. Being aware we are fans of the show, Stefan put a special focus on that throughout our tour, which made it even more fascinating for us!!! Once again THANK YOU Stefan! We are happy to have met you and explored this wonderful country with your help!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Iliyana for the kind words. I'm very happy to have been of service. I loved showing you the sights and to brag about Iceland :-) Happy travels!

Iliyana Om

Bulgaria
Rating

Tour: #133, South Coast of Iceland to Vik - Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Glacier and Black Beaches, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 21/19

We are so grateful to have had the opportunity to be guided by Stefan, while in Iceland. We can't recommend him highly enough! A true pleasure to experience this amazing country with the help of a knowledgable, seasoned and professional local guide. Stefan went above and beyond for us! We saw and learnt so much more than expected! We will definitely be coming back to Iceland and we don't have a sliver of hesitation who our guide will be again! THANK YOU Stefan for giving us an unforgettable adventure!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Iliyana for the kind words. I'm very happy to have been of service. I loved showing you the sights and to brag about Iceland :-) Happy travels!

Rocky L.

United States
Rating

Tour: #133, South Coast of Iceland to Vik - Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Glacier and Black Beaches, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 19/19

Stefan is an outstanding tour guide! He catered the day to our interests and he stopped multiple times for local photo opportunities. The South Coast tour and our time with Stefan exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend him to others.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Rocky for the kind words :-) It was a true pleasure to show you around. Wonderful to hear the service you received exceeded your expectations. Travel safely!

James Beck

United States
Rating

Tour: #208877, 2019-06-18 James Beck x 2 Visit Game of Thrones film locations in Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 18/19

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you for the 5*! It was a great pleasure to show you the sights.

TOURSBYLOCALS RESPONSE: Review was removed from this booking as T made a mistake. The text was intended for G Sergei Kolesnik, booking RVWZW.

Erik Knutson

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, Golden circle private tour with an experienced local driver/guide, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 16/19

Stefan was a great guide. He made the most of our day on the Golden Circle tour and was very friendly and informative. By the end of the day he felt like an old friend as he mixed personal thoughts with traditional tourist info. He tailored our stops and timing to meet our desires. I highly recommend Stefan to any traveler to Iceland!

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Erik, it was a great pleasure. I look forward to hear from you or your family in future. Travel safely!

Robert Thornhill

United States
Rating

Tour: #132, 2019-06-08 Golden circle private tour and Reykjavik walking tour for Robert Thornhill x 3 with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 8/19

Stefan is knowledgeable and friendly. My wife and my 20 year old son enjoyed our full day tour of Iceland.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I loved showing you the sights and introducing Iceland to you. Happy travels!

Terry Lipkus

Canada
Rating

Tour: #138, 2019-06-07 Terry Lipkus x 4 Reykjavik Blue lagoon Reykjanes peninsula 5hrs, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 7/19

Stefan exceeded our expectations as a tour guide in Reykjavik. He was knowledgeable, personable and flexible when we asked him to slightly change our itinerary. I would highly recommend him to any tourist looking for a guide in Iceland.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Terry, it was a great pleasure to be with you too :-) Happy travels.

Daryo Rodrigue

Turkey
Rating

Tour: #133, 2019-06-2 and 3 June and 5 and 6 June Daryo Rodrique x 4 private tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: Jun 2/19

Our time with Stefan has been very precious. He is an excellent guide with a very good sense of humor. He is so accommodating that he can predict your special need before you tell him. He is a great story teller. He is very experienced which is reflected in every detail of our 4 full day of excursion. Each day was well planed and well executed. He has in depth knowledge of not only tourism but every detail of Iceland. We all learned about Iceland' culture in detail. It was a privilege to spend time with

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Daryo, it was a great pleasure to be with you, your wife and your two friends for those days. Thank you for telling me so many things about your own culture and country. It was a great learning experience for me too and exotic since I've not been to Turkey yet. Happy travels.

Dirk Schenkkan

United States
Rating

Tour: #1709, Reykjavik walking tour - Private tour with Stefan, Reykjavik, Iceland    view tour
Date: May 21/19

Stephan was a pleasure. Friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs and interests.

TOUR GUIDE RESPONSE: Thank you Dirk, it was a great pleasure for me too to show you around my home town Reykjavik on foot!